Outpost update question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Ledsr40, Jun 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ledsr40

    Ledsr40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    52
    Outpost firewall always tries to update it self, it gives my computer hiccups when it does that and then a little bubble pops up saying spyware signature updated to XXXX signatures in total. But I don't have auto update checked. Is this a bug or virus?
     
  2. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Go to |Options| -> |Plugins-Setup| highlight Anti-Spyware and click "Stop"

    This should stop the antispy database update.

    ...screamer
     
  3. Ledsr40

    Ledsr40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    52
    What? I was not complaining about the system slowdown during update, but merely asking if it's normal for it to be updating itself. Because under tools, "automatically check for updates" is not checked, but the spyware is still updating it self. So the spyware module is independent of the basic firewall settings?
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Not for updates it shouldn't be - see the Outpost forum thread Keeps Updating Spyware Database....help? for some possible solutions.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.