Outpost Pro with aol 9 broadband ok?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by timnicebutdim, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. timnicebutdim

timnicebutdim Registered Member

Hi,

Just a little advice needed as i am a complete novice when it comes to security and no nothing about networking. Basically i recently became a victim of the VX2 trojan and it completely hijacked my system. Everytime i went online it connected to a server and secretly installed programs, trojans, mailware and spyware. It completley bypassed all of my security programs.
    Sadly i had TDS3 installed but i thought that it had real time protection running in the background and i now learn that if i had set it up properly then the VX2 trojan probably wouldn't have managed to install itself in the first place. I like to have the best security software available on my computer and that is why i purchased TDS3, however i found it much too technical for me to use properly, even when looking through the help files - probably one of the reasons i didn't realise you had to have exec protection installed and TDS3 running in the background when installing programs to be protected.