outpost pro 2.1 and pop up blocking

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by the mul, May 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    I was just wondering If anyone new how good is outpost pro at stopping adds or popups,and If It is not up to the job, did u have to use any other programmes to stop these adds or popups from happening.

    Thanks


    The Mul
     
  2. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Works good for me. ;)
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    As Root says, works for me also!
    Its all I need all I use:)
     
  4. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Outpost is effective in blocking almost all popups - however this does mean it will block "good" popups as well (i.e. ones you request by clicking on a link). A dedicated popup-stopper can either detect (and permit) these or allow you to disable popup blocking temporarily (by keeping a key pressed). I think such a feature is on the Todo list for a future version of Outpost.

    I however have had no need for such a facility (I prefer to go through the HTML source and type such links in directly if I think they are worth the effort) so can't make any further recommendations.
     
  5. MAL

    MAL Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    I like using outpost with firefox... double protection :D
     
  6. tuatara

    tuatara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    772
    Or use Mozilla with the popups 'on/off' button in the prefbar.
     
  7. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I'm a bit disappointed with outposts's flash blocking abilities.

    Have it set to prompt, if I respond no, it only blocks 1 flash ad on a site. Not too helpful since many sites have 10 or so on them. Then if you hit refresh, every single flash ad shows up.

    The other odd thing is that it doesn't load up a flash prompt for every site even though it's set for it in the settings.

    Hate to say it, but I'm about ready in install NIS (no NAV) for the ad blocking functionality. It did a pretty solid job and also had decent cookie management. A
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2004
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.