Outpost free firewall 1.0

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Wills, Jan 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wills

Wills Registered Member

As you have seen by many queries on firewalls, I have been a dilemma and surfing a number of security forums to get a reasonable one that does not use up a lot of resources after my Bad experience with Zone Alarm Pro 5.
    I am trying out the above free firewall and noted that there is an option for agnitum update and i click on this and it indicates 438 kb and connecting but nothing happens.Does anyone know anything about this?

Also, being a novice i don't know anything about Rule Setting, is there anywhere on the net that a member can go to learn how to do this?

Also I was wondering about the Pro edition, Zone Alarm really bogged me down in startup as well as browsing and it was so bad, This free version is 2.5 mb and I was curious what the Pro edition was in size and what "bells and whistles" it has to make it desireable for a Novice like me.

Also I believe I mentioned that Toshiba the manufacturer of my notebook is still working out issues with sp2 and told me not to install it But suggested that I may want to install a 3rd party firewall in the meantime.

i read a couple of articles while surfing in Security forums where members were still keeping their sp2 firewall enabled and were not having problems with Outpost and so I also wondered what members opinions on leaving sp1 enabled would be.
    So far no problems.

i really look forward to your answers to my queries.

thanking you in advance.

2. Frank Leigh

Frank Leigh Registered Member

I clicked on the update thing and nothing seemed to be happening but eventually a box came up with a message recommending me to update to the pro version, which I just declined.