Outpost Firewall Pro or Free with AVIRA

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by buckshee, May 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    I have a dilemma, When I installed Outpost Firewall Pro I noticed that antimalware and web page scanning are disabled in Outpost because they are part of AVIRA premium.
    It begs the question (and it is a serious one). Is there any advantage to buying the Pro version if parts of it are not used rather than the Free version. I don't do any Porn or warez browsing (if that makes a difference)
    Thanks
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,780
    I used Outpost Free and Avira Premium on Vista and they seemed to make a pretty good combo. Unless there is something in Outpost Pro that you really need, I'd say OP Free might be good enough. But of course it's up to you, and your needs.
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,132
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    That would be a great set-up :thumb:
     
  4. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    If you install Outpost Pro first, switch to learning mode then install Avira you should have no problem.
     
  5. buckshee

    buckshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Let me rephrase my question. If the antimalware and web scanning of the Pro is disabled (when using Avira) then is it the same as if I had the Free version installed, or is there still a good unemotional reason to use/buy the Pro version
     
  6. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Even with the modules mentioned being disabled, the pro version still has much more to offer: http://www.agnitum.com/products/outpost/features.php However, your pairing of the freeware version with Avira Premium is certainly solid protection. Add a behavior blocker and you're good to go.
     
  7. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
  8. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    I have used both the Pro and Free Outpost versions with Avira free and Avira Premium. Seeing how Outpost Pro disables so much when used with Avira I would just stick with the free version. I recently purchased a Outpost Pro lifetime license and I wouldn't say I regret it, but I do think it was unnecessary as the free version did the job.

    I did have an issue on one of my laptops where on start up of Vista Avira premium won't fully load after I installed Outpost Pro. The Avira Splash screen just sits there forever and never goes away and my computer is sluggish and I waited over half an hour. I reinstalled Avira but it didn't fix the issue. I tried the learning mode on Outpost, but still they weren't happy together. Only after removing Outpost Pro did Avira work again. I ended up using Comodo firewall on that machine with Avira b/c they don't give me any issues together and I do like Comodo's firewall a lot. On another desktop computer with WinXP I have no issues with Outpost Pro and Avira so I use that.

    I have two more computers with the Avira and Comodo firewall combo that run great, but I may do a backup and just try Outpost with Avira at least one of them for the heck of it.
     
  9. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
  10. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.