Outpost Firewall pro auto learn mode

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by country2, Feb 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Do you after running the firewall in learn mode for a couple of hours ...or whatever...turn it off or select one of the other options (1 hourly,1 day, 1 week or permanent) I just realize mine has been on permanent so I turned it to disable . Thanks!
     
  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Run for a week and ensure you update all your updateables

    Run all your www using applications this creates the rules for you.


    THEN change to block most on Firewall Policy and make sure you leave learning mode.

    THEN check all the www using rules to tighten them up deleting any incoming connections on TCP.
     
  3. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    I did the same thing I've always done with Malware Defender in Windows XP. Install > Learning Mode on > reboot > Learning Mode off. I view HIPS as a learning tool in addition to a security feature. I can't learn what's going on behind the scenes on my system if I leave Learning Mode on any longer than absolutely necessary.
     
  4. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Yes for tweakers (like me) I just use learning mode to create a starting set of rules.

    IF I don't run ALL my www oriented exe's I won't get a rule set that is CLOSE to what I need.

    Some products like OP FW etc have presets and config rules for the "masses" so those come first. Then in LM I run ALL my programs, browsers, updaters etc etc.

    THEN I go through these painfully tightening up the rules.

    Example I make the remote update addresses for Nod32 specific.

    See attached rule set:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96
    this is not how auto-learn needs to work

    you can leave auto-learn enabled and it will only allow programs it knows through the firewall, anything else you will be asked about, the name is deceiving
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Suggest you read the documentation on auto-learn.

    My advice on how to proceed is correct....
     
  7. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    And good advice it is i might add..:)
     
  8. country2

    country2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    169
    Thanks for the info!
     
  9. Kayracc

    Kayracc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    96

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=338014&page=3

    you were literally a part of this thread, how can you ignore everyone else telling you otherwise?

    starts near the end of page 3(linked above) and goes through page 4

    and again your thread here on the outpost forums

    http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?27279-Critics-at-PC-Magazine-and-at-Wilders


    You can ofcourse choose to do as you stated however auto-learn mode does not trust every single program, and can be left enabled

    i also believe if i am not mistaken the documentation for v8 was not updated

    EDIT, adding link for proof that the helpfile has not been updated for v8

    http://www.outpostfirewall.com/foru...-not-being-auto-prompted-in-Rules-Wizard-mode


    TL,DR version......quote from manny

    "This is a factual error made by the reviewer as I pointed out in the review's comment section. Auto-learn will only make rules for apps that are known to Agnitum and rated as Trusted and/or Normal. You could leave on for a week if you were so inclined and it would still only make rules for know apps. Anything else and the user is notified."
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  10. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Ive just had a quick gander over at the outpost forum.Is there any particular reason why comodo is a taboo subject and word..?:cautious:
    So much for impartiality amongst the security community.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,051
    Probably because it is not a "security community" but a support forum for Agnitum products.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    hi
    are you talking about the free or the paid version ?
    is there a free version of the firewall only or the free version is only Outpost Security Suite ?

    thanks
     
  13. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    It's not a taboo subject but we don't know much about it and as Pete said the forum really is mainly about Agnitum products with a little computer help on the side. As long as people are respectful we can talk about it but I doubt we can help much with it.
     
  14. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    The current free version is the suite but there is a previous version of just the free firewall that can be found if you really desire it.

    Edit: you were asking about auto-learn in the free version, right? I'd be careful with that because that version could allow anything to run. It basically considers any traffic it sees as trusted. Not a good thing in my opinion.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2013
  15. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Auto learn is useful for getting your configuration done quickly. It reacts quickly and there's no real lag with it like in the wizard mode. It's also reasonably secure but you can tighten its rules if you really desire depending on your paranoia level. You could leave it on long term if you want but then you give up the privilege of understanding your system. This reincarnation of auto-learn only makes rules for apps that are know to Agnitum otherwise it asks you about it. In that respect, leaving it turned on is not unsafe.

    Personally, I tend to use it for a day or two when I start a new configuration and then do everything else manually. I'm not overly paranoid and don't normally go back and tighten the automatic rules. I probably should but I haven't been infected in the last ten or so years so I guess I must be doing something right and right now easy is good.
     
  16. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    yes i 'm asking the auto-learn of the free version
    so it's different

    but is there a free version with only the firewall?

    for example v7


    manny i'm an outpost user since the great outpost 2.5 and so on
    but i have to say clean.exe , the clean tool to make a clean install doens't remove all the outpost registry entry ,but can mess up the OS

    should be tested and fixed better


    thanks
     
  17. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Im at the moment in an odd situation concerning outpost.Its a product that ive had my eye on for a while now and i would gladly pay for the product but sadly i cannot at this present time purchase anything online.Does anyone know if this firewall is available in retail stores here in the united kingdom as it is the ONLY way i would ever be able to use outpost.

    Thank you.
     
  18. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    The free version are typically behind the current version. The free suite is the latest and is v 7.1 available from here: http://free.agnitum.com/download.php

    There is no v 7 free with the firewall only. It's the 2009 version which I believe is 6.5 available here: http://download.cnet.com/Agnitum-Outpost-Firewall-Free/3000-10435_4-10913746.html

    Clean.exe needs to work until it reboots the system. It gives no indication it is working. Once you execute it then you have to walk away until the machine reboots. That does need fixing. I agree but normally, if left alone, it does a good job.
     
  19. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    There are some retail outlets but they are few and far apart. It's almost exclusively an online sale. Ask the UK guys and see if they can work out something: http://www.agnitum.co.uk/?page=home
     
  20. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Thank you manny for an excellent reply.:thumb:
     
  21. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    You're welcome and I'm sorry that an online purchase is difficult for you. Agnitum is a small company and retail is difficult for them but there are a few places that carry their products. I just don't know if any are located in the UK.
     
  22. Manny Carvalho

    Manny Carvalho Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Posts:
    270
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    thanks Manny
    but i installed outpost 7 with revo pro , so i monitored the registry keys added and changed
    i uninstalled it in normal way , reboot , safe mode -> cleaner but it doesn't make a clean install

    by the way i tried even appremover , it's very dangerous , the pc doesn't boot anymore

    the point with security software ,is to have a good uninstaller ,you know you need to keep them updated
     
  24. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,153
    Manny can i ask you a question ?

    if i buy a license for outpost firewall for 1 year , this means i can update the program 8 to 8.5 for example for 1 year ,after the firewall will work , but i can't update the program

    is it true ?
    after 1 year , can i update presets without renew the license?

    and after 1 year , without renew the license , does outpost start to pop up boring pop ups ,nags to push me to buy another license ?

    thanks
     
  25. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I just run a file (wifimaster.net/raZ .....)dated today from malcode while protected with outpost security suite and in auto learn mode.The av part didnt detect anything malicious which was expected.However what i didnt expect was for the firewall in auto learn mode automatically allowing the malicious file (AZYTUL.EXE) to run and creating the rules for it,as i was under the impression auto learn rules only allowed if the file was in the database and known to be ok?.I also had no antileak warnings or anything else from outpost security suite.Perhaps someone else can test the file and see how it behaves with outpost.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.