Outpost Firewall Pro and HIPS of ESET NOD32 Antivirus

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Sacles, Jul 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
    Hello,

    Is there a risk of conflict with the pro-active protection of Outpost and the HIPS of ESET NOD32 HIPS (Automatic mode with rules)?

    In advance, thanks for your replies.
     
  2. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    Re: Outpost Firewall Pro and HIPS of ESET NOT32 Antivirus

    Without knowing more about Outpost Pro, I couldn't say that the Proactive Protection module would conflict with ESET HIPS however I wonder if there might possibly be some performance conflict with the ESET Real Time Scanner and the Outpost Program Activity Monitor.

    I'd be interested in seeing what others have to say about this.
     
  3. t.s.lim

    t.s.lim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11
    Re: Outpost Firewall Pro and HIPS of ESET NOT32 Antivirus

    I switch off NOD32's HIPS. I can't really recall the exact problem I was facing the in the past, but I did remember there was a problem having both of them active at the same time.
     
  4. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    Re: Outpost Firewall Pro and HIPS of ESET NOT32 Antivirus

    Don't forget that with HIPS switched off, NOD32's self-protection is also disabled.
     
  5. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    507
    Outpost has hips functionality of its own,so its better that you disable ESET's hips,if you use them together then you probably might be better off downgrading eset to version 4.2,which is what i use,as i found system freezes with version 5.2,most likely due to the hips in eset.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.