Outpost Firewall Pro 2009

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by boelectronic, Jan 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boelectronic

boelectronic Registered Member

What problems make outpost firewall not popular, what's cons about that?

how do you compare it to Online Armor, I've seen Matousec compare, I want to know your opinion :)

I'm really happy with that, but I can see Online Armor are getting better result in action, but to outpost better job, help me to decide which one is better :)

2. lost24

lost24 Registered Member

I have been using Outpost for 3 years (Firewall pro until last december, and Security Suite since then), and I just find it perfect. From reading tests and user opinions I can say that it's at least as good as OA and Comodo. Depending on when the test is posted it may vary in favor of the one or the other, but all in all they're just great security softwares.

I would definitely recommend Outpost, especially now, with the lifetime license ;)

3. drkoopz

drkoopz Registered Member

I cannot compare Outpost to Online Armour, but I can just tell you that my experience with Outpost 2009 has been mostly positive. I purchased the lifetime license at few weeks ago, and will be using it as my main software firewall for a very long time. All the extras including the Antispyware (which I tested and caught many nasties in my virtual machine) and ad blocker, are well done and once you add an antivirus like Antivir, AVG and Avast you've probably got a pretty cheap, effective suite for the price.

Why has it not been as popular? Probably because Agnitum does not offer an effective free version of the firewall. Their free version is Outpost 1.0 and it's just too outdated to recommend on a modern system. You have choices like Comodo Firewall and Zone Alarm Free and both of those companies are very popular because of their free offerings.

4. boelectronic

boelectronic Registered Member