Outpost Attack Detection Plug-in Problem (not work with limited account?)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Dryopithecus, Mar 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dryopithecus

    Dryopithecus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Hi,

    I'm new to Outpost.

    I have a administrator account and a limited user account in my windows xp sp2. With the administrator account, the Attack Detection plug-in works perfectly, but with the limited user account, it seems that this plug-in was disabled. It can't detect any port scan when I test on this site (http://scan.sygatetech.com/tcpscan.html). (I have cleaned the Blocked Hosts List everytime before I do a test.)

    Is there anyway to enable the Attack Detection in the limited user account?

    Very sorry for my poor english... :oops:

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2006
  2. myhomie

    myhomie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    46
    i second emotion the post above.

    i too have problem using the outpost firewall in my limited account. my firefox wont connect to the internet using my limited account but can connect if im using my admin account.

    but this is really weird because in my experience when i open the outpost in my limited account everythings ok but when i open it in my admin accnt and try to use firefox on the limited accnt it can connect at first maybe a few hours and then it suddenly cant connect. is this a known bug or something?

    thanks guys.. we really need your help bout this one. cheers!

    regards,
    /myhomie
     
  3. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Are either of you using Fast User Switching? If so, then Outpost will not work well with this feature since only the first user to login will receive (and be able to reply to) any Outpost prompts. As such, if FUS is critical to you, another firewall would be the best answer.

    Otherwise, please review your Outpost logs (Blocked and Attack Detection) and try clearing all the options in the Ethernet tab (see Known Issue 3 of Outpost 3.0 - What to expect).
     
  4. Dryopithecus

    Dryopithecus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Thank you very much for the reply!!

    I didn't use Fast User Switching. I have already switched back to Look n Stop yesterday, it works fine. :D

    Thanks again!

    Best Regards
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.