Outlook 2010 Downloading Duplicate EMails

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Corey Bryant, Mar 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Corey Bryant

    Corey Bryant Registered Member

    Mar 18, 2011
    Castle Rock, CO
    I am sure a few users know about this irritating option. If you are popping a few emails, and leaving them on the server, Outlook will usually re-download those emails every time a reboot happens.

    I like to have the emails on the server so that I can reply from that email address.

    When I do get an email that is spam, I right click on the message, go to ESET Smart Security, and choose Re-Classify Selected Messages as spam.

    Now, if I do a re-boot and those emails are downloaded again, I have to repeat this process.

    Is there anything that I can do to have ESET move the message(s) into my Junk / Trash folder automatically without having to repeat the process? And if so, what? :)

    Some Information
    • OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit
    • E-Mail Client: Microsoft Outlook 2010 SP1 (Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2010)
    • ESET Smart Security
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Nov 22, 2002
    Try adding the sender to the blacklist if it's not somebody you know (ie. select the message and click Spam address).
  3. Corey Bryant

    Corey Bryant Registered Member

    Mar 18, 2011
    Castle Rock, CO
    Thanks! Looking at the message headers of one spammer
    Return-Path: <ez---201@att.net>
    Received: from saratoga.saneinc.net [] by smartermail.techevolution.com with SMTP;
       Fri, 18 Mar 2011 10:49:06 -0400
    Received: from nm5-vm1.bullet.mail.ne1.yahoo.com [] 
    	by voyager.techevolution.com with smtp (SpamOnion)
    	id 1Q0azo-0001ZL-IA; Fri, 18 Mar 2011 10:49:48 -0400
    Received: from [] by nm5.bullet.mail.ne1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 18 Mar 2011 14:49:44 -0000
    Received: from [] by tm4.bullet.mail.ne1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 18 Mar 2011 14:49:44 -0000
    Received: from [] by omp1023.mail.ne1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 18 Mar 2011 14:49:44 -0000
    Received: (qmail 45127 invoked by uid 60001); 18 Mar 2011 14:49:44 -0000
    Received: from [] by web181302.mail.ne1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Fri, 18 Mar 2011 07:49:44 PDT
    X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-5
    X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 669343.86750.bm@omp1023.mail.ne1.yahoo.com
    DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=att.net; s=s1024; t=1300459784; bh=64fIKCnn2Ni+85QIyw+JXQYF5RaNR+JLnQLWAWnviEI=; h=Message-ID:X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Date:From:Reply-To:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=3wxCIFr5LoY/45SNoXNy1vsbnNjjGqxV+dU7kGLASjMC5LoWvW+ppZb/tEtHvlFDdBXgaL6Q4z6zLc84qOzdQ0ytvw9crfXbAzkaAqeZ4IZrOI96g9bms3jZfnLejPOsPVyUdERZ+F8DQWYN4D7972BAbBNl7QX2tkTvO5f4GRg=
    DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
      s=s1024; d=att.net;
    Message-ID: <391262.19987.qm@web181302.mail.ne1.yahoo.com>
    X-YMail-OSG: QC4ACR0VM1nc8Ypp7NvnXsRJ7kty0OptQU_6s4yZ0k4nZUy
    X-Mailer: YahooMailClassic/11.4.20 YahooMailWebService/
    Date: Fri, 18 Mar 2011 07:49:44 -0700 (PDT)
    From: Kasikorn Bank <ez---201@att.net>
    Reply-To: kkassykorn@yahoo.co.jp
    Subject: *Update From Kasikorn Bank Of Thailand
    To: undisclosed recipients: ;
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1616725698-1300459784=:19987"
    X-SaNEitized-By: SpamOnion v2.0 - http://www.techevolution.com
    X-Spam-Score: 4.0 (++++)
    X-Spam-Report: SpamAssassin version 3.2.5  on voyager.saneinc.net results.
    	Contact the administrator of that system for details.
    	Content analysis details:   (4.0 points, 5.0 required)
    	pts rule name              description
    	---- ---------------------- -------------------------------------------
    	-0.0 DKIM_VERIFIED          Domain Keys Identified Mail: signature passes
    	0.0 DKIM_SIGNED            Domain Keys Identified Mail: message has a signature
    	0.0 HTML_MESSAGE           BODY: HTML included in message
    	3.0 RDNS_NONE              Delivered to trusted network by a host with no rDNS
    X-Rcpt-To: <none@example.org>
    X-SmarterMail-TotalSpamWeight: 0 (Authenticated)
    X-EsetId: F1B8742E02E55B69EEBE747500B617
    When I hit reply to this email, it is going to ez---201@att.net - but looking at the header information, I also see a yahoo.com.jp information.

    Would adding this email to the blacklist prevent anyone from att.net sending me an email, or yahoo.com.jp, or both?

    Also, I changed
    X-Rcpt-To: <none@example.org>
    since this was my email address. And this address that it was sent to was to a specific email address for a specific URL (www.facebook.com to be exact).

    Usually when I sign up with a forum / company, I will set up a specific email address: for this forum, I set up wilderssecurity@example.com. That way, if I start getting too many emails to a specific email, I will disable that and change the email address on that board.

    Thanks again!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.