OSselector "processing, please wait"

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by dbjames, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dbjames

    dbjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I am currently working with Disk Director Suite 10 (build 2, 117) with Windows XP Pro/SP2 on a Dell PowerEdge 1750 and trying to set up a multi-boot server. Before my company purchased this product we tested out (successfully) the demo version with the same exact configuration.

    After loading the licensed product and rebooting the machine, I receive a window that reads “processing, please wait”. The boot process freezes on this. When I bypass the OS Selector menu, the software works great. But, one of my main needs for this software is the OS Selector menu that loads as part of the boot process. Multiple times; I have rebuilt this machine, reinstalled the software, and upgraded the demo version too….all with the same result…. Freezing on “Processing, Please Wait”.

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated……
     
  2. nuljet

    nuljet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    The Acronis official support will give you the same blurb.

    My personal experience is that installing OSS in its own small fat32 partition, away from any system partition, reduces such problems; I've had no such messages since. (I also put it in a small logical partition, not to take a precious primary, but the important point is a non-system, and fat32; don't know why though, maybe it's just luck on my part, maybe ntfs is secure also).

    Another advantage of this procedure is that if you want to get rid of the os in which oss is installed, you'll have to install oss somewhere else anyway; in its own partition, you could delete any os without losing oss.

    I don't know if this will help in your case though.
    Good luck.
     
  3. dbjames

    dbjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I tried this .........it didn't seem to help. If you have anyother ideas....i will gladly take them. I'm just amazed that the DEMO version works and not the licensed copy.
     
  4. nuljet

    nuljet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    WinGrub.
    Never used it myself, but having a Linux distro and using Grub (at least on some systems), it's quite flexible, and free.
    OS Selector now seems like a poor child that's been bundled into ADD to prevent its death.

    Look how prompt Acronis official support came to help...

    Be glad of ADD, but don't expect too much from OSS.
     
  5. Batfink

    Batfink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    78
    Mine is in a fat16 primary, non os partition, with all my OSes in logical partitions and I too get "processing plese wait" for about 20+ seconds before the OS Selector screen appears, wasnt a prob with v9...!! Figure that ne out!!
     
  6. nuljet

    nuljet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Posts:
    63
    Does disabling loading cd drivers help a little?
     
  7. Batfink

    Batfink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    78
    lol.. you star!!!

    Ticked that box, and all my problems are over!!!! Cant believe id never noticed that before, makes sense really..!!!!!!

    Cheers.. should save a few days of my life every year!!!
     
  8. dbjames

    dbjames Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    disabling the CDrom drives helped boot into the OS Selector software. Now the crap software won't boot into any of my OS's it just sits there in a blank screen.

    The support from Acronis is as terrible as this software.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.