OSS Slow

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by superd707, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. superd707

    superd707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I have been using OSS successfully on another PC for about a year now, but am replacing that PC with a new build. I setup XP, installed DD 10 build 2160 installed OS Selector and have 2 working OS's except that OSS is Extremely Slow to respond. It takes about 10 seconds to register a mouse click. I set the Mouse options to PS2/USB but no change. I did install the OSS to my second drive (I don't remember if I did that last time or not.) I have 2 640GB drives, the 1st drive with 3 100GB primary partitions for the OS's, and the 2nd drive is 1 Primary 640GB. OSS was laggy right after install. On my original PC if I used the keyboard arrows to move the selection between OS's or the mouse it was instantaneous and the boot into the loader was faster as well.

    Should I have selected the 1st drive for the install? Anyone have any suggestions? Bios settings maybe?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can try it with the Legacy USB option (if available) in the BIOS enabled and disabled and see if it makes any difference.

    If you have any other USB devices connected, disconnect them and see if the mouse acts differently at the OSS menu. You don't have to boot into Windows with the other devices disconnected. This is just a test to see if any other USB devices might be causing a problem.

    Installing OSS to a different drive shouldn't cause any problems. I suspect it's an OSS/BIOS issue.

    Does the keyboard respond normally? Is the keyboard USB?
     
  3. superd707

    superd707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the reply. The new Bios has a Legacy Storage which I set to disable with no difference, but it does have a USB Keyboard support if using a USB Keyboard to allow USB keyboard entry into bios. Yes it is a USB keyboard. I will try and disable that, and see since I don't go into bios that much. I had the same keyboard on the other machine but had to hook up a PS2 if I went into bios. I will post back the results.

    PS. I got the 3rd boot OS working as OSX using the Kalyway install and OSS works fine with the 3.
     
  4. superd707

    superd707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    If I disable USB legacy Storage support, USB Mouse Support and USB Keyboard support, it still is slow to come up, but I can't tell if I the selection moves faster because neither the mouse or keyboard works :) Just to try I was thinking to move the installed location to my first XP partition instead of the 2nd drive. Can I do this without losing my 3 current OS selections?
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I don't know if that would make any difference, but I would guess not.

    Before you do anything that drastic, have you tried booting to the Safe Mode version of DD? Does it exhibit the same slow response?
     
  6. superd707

    superd707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I ran DD from the OSS and the first time it started to load then went back to the OSS menu. I ran it again and it loaded and was working like normal - so I guess that should rule out Bios. What's also weird is if I select options in OSS, once the options window comes up there is no lag withing that window. I did get a read error once early on but ran a scan on the drive and saw no errors then or since. Do you think it could have something to do with it loading from a 650GB single partition or maybe just not a clean install? Thanks for your feedback.

    Edit...I created a recovery media CD and ran the DD safe mode and it worked fine.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2009
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello superd707 and MudCrab,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Our OS Selector recognizes the devices through BIOS and speed of its work depends on BIOS also.

    In your case, you should try to update your BIOS to the latest version.

    We should determine where do you have a bad blocks. Please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post then attach the file to your reply in this thread. Please make sure that all devices involved in your configuration are attached.

    We are looking forward to hearing back from you at your earliest convenience.

    Thank you.

    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  8. CircleGirl

    CircleGirl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Circle Campus
    With DD10 bad blocks could be remedied as easy as defragging, it has happened to me several times, so try this first before spending more time on disk checking.
     
  9. naulak

    naulak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    On the OS Selector screen select Tools -> Options -> Startup Option -> Checkmark 'Do not load CD-ROM drivers'.

    This should resolve the issue
     
  10. CircleGirl

    CircleGirl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Circle Campus
    Wow, this is less time consuming than defragging!! Next time I'll try this first!!
     
  11. superd707

    superd707 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Sorry for the delay in a response. I did not try the disk scan as suggested by support but I did try what Naulak suggested.
    This worked like a charm!

    Thanks Naulak,MudCrab and all those that replied.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.