OSS Selector killed my Vista

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by aldoofbanga, Nov 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aldoofbanga

    aldoofbanga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    I installed the latest build of disk director on an HP Compaq OEM Vista 64 Business laptop with single C: partition.

    I then installed OSS on the same partition.

    Now I cannot see or access my Vista !

    Is there a way for me to recover?
     
  2. aldoofbanga

    aldoofbanga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Fixed by booting from an Acronis boot cd, and selecting "remove OSS".

    Now Vista boots normally.

    Trying to remove OSS using the OSS menu would not work, it just complained saying it could not see a bootable OS to use after the install.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    This is a current problem with OSS. Acronis has acknowledged that it has a problem finding "Brand" OEM installations of Vista. They've hinted at an updated build, but nothing so far.
     
  4. aldoofbanga

    aldoofbanga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    I hope this gets higher priority. As disk director is supposed to support Vista, and OEM Vista must be the most common OS on new laptops at the moment?

    On a related note, I then decided to split my Vista partition using disk director. It take's the whole of the internal HD at the moment.

    Because it's a system partition, I have to attempt this using the boot cd. Again disk director suite boot cd will not see my internal disk drive at all, presumably the same problem? It can only see the hard disk with the installed version of disk director.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If you boot to the Safe Mode version of DD, it should see your drive. I would recommend resizing the partition smaller and then creating a new partition instead of using the Split Partition function.

    If you do this procedure, boot to the DD CD in Safe Mode, resize the parition, reboot to Vista, then you can use DD in Vista to create the new partition in the unallocated space.

    Note that you may need to do a Vista Repair after you resize the Vista partition. Depending on if Vista is booting from the Vista partition or through a rescue partition, the repair will be different.

    If you boot to Vista and open a Command Prompt in Administrator Mode and run bcdedit it will show the current file's setup. If you post the output, we could see how it's booting.
     
  6. aldoofbanga

    aldoofbanga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thanks MudCrab, the safe version could see my drive.

    It did "appear" to corrupt my Vista boot section a few times but this was easily repaired with the Vista install cd.

    Acronis also got back to me saying the next disk director build will sort Vista OEM, but would not give me a date so I won't hold my breathe!

    Thanks again for your help
    Al.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.