OSS n Keyboard Issues!

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by 238drac, Jul 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I have a Saitek Eclipse Usb Keyboard.
    My Bios can recognize it fine.
    Windows recognizes it fine.

    BUT Acronis OSS will not see it.

    What can I do?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does the mouse work?
    Is the mouse USB or PS/2?

    Does your comptuer's BIOS have a "Legacy USB" option? If so, try it enabled or disabled (the opposite of what it is now) and see if that helps.

    You can install the OSS program in Windows and do most changes there that require the keyboard. This doesn't help you if you need to use the keyboard when booted to OSS, though.
     
  3. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Yes the mouse is USB alos and it does work.
    But i NEED the keyboard at OSS boot up also.
    As I stated before, i can use the keyboard in the bios prior to OSS, So the bios settings should not be at fault.

    Anyone else?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would still check the BIOS Legacy USB setting. The BIOS can detect hardware however it wants to, but that doesn't mean that a running program will detect it the same way.

    If you haven't checked the setting and tried it in its enabled/disabled state then you won't know if that's the fix or not.

    Have you tried a "generic" USB keyboard? Perhaps it's just something with the Saitek keyboard that's causing the problem.

    Otherwise, you're probably left with using a PS/2 keyboard (if your computer has the port) or contacting Acronis Support and seeing if they can help.
     
  5. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Does Acronis Support still monitor this board?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Acronis Support very rarely posts in the Disk Director forum. (Translation: almost never) Most of their time seems to be spent on True Image.

    If you need to contact them, log into your account and submit a support request.
     
  7. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    Problem solved.
    Bad Keyboard.
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Just curious...

    If the keyboard was working with everything else (BIOS, Windows, etc.), how did you finally determine that it was faulty?
     
  9. 238drac

    238drac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    18
    I had 2.
    Tried the other and it worked.
    Go figure
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.