oss-dds hangs and does nothing!

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Da Mail Man, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    greetings,

    have a sony laptop running xp pro 1+2, 2.8 ghz processor, 100gb-hd, 1gb-ram. usb optical mouse.

    i am running disk director suit v10.0 build 20.89, and oss selector.

    i will be attempting to install windows millennium on a separate fat 32 partition (if i can ever get that far!) to run various games.

    after installation of dds and oss, the system wants to be rebooted. here is where the problems start!....the system reboots and i get a small window that says "processing, please wait..." , and that's it!!...i have let this sit for over an hour and not a g-d thing happens!

    i have done a low-level format and have wiped the disc completely and reinstalled my operating system. what the heck is going on here?...thanks for your help!
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Hello again!

    First, I would recommend you update to the latest build of DD/OSS (2,160) as it has some bug fixes and better OS/hardware support. It may fix your problem.

    How were the two XP systems booting (before OSS)?
    Were they using XP's bootloader? (Text menu at startup to select which XP you want to boot.)

    Did you have OSS working on this computer before?

    Did you install OSS from XP or from the DD cd?

    Don't forget that the WinME boot partition has to be installed at the beginning of the hard drive (within the first 2GB of space). Also make sure you can even get WinME drivers for your laptop (video, audio, network, etc.). Otherwise, the performance will probably not be very good for playing games.
     
  3. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    ...it's been a while but damn, i remember you!..ya helped me in the past and i thank you but, dammit, now i am back!:D ..i took dss, etc. off of my other computer (uninstalled it) and put it in (or attempted to put it) on the sony laptop......

    ...i have never put anything on this sony laptop but, as "stock" was working properly....

    ...OSS was installed from dds.....

    ....ya know, i forgot about putting it (M.E.) on the beginning of the hard drive!...ugh!.....i may try that and see what happens but, that raises another set of problems...(drivers).....

    .....the drivers for the laptop are on (i think) the darn system/restore disc which also contains the win xp home (i made an error as to the operating system and indeed it is WIN XP HOME not xp pro!)...

    ...i have the win MELLENIUM disc and have attempted to boot into it from an empty hard drive but, get an error message (drv something?? - heck, now i don't remember!!).....even if i get this (M.E.) to go in with no other operating system, do ya think i can go into device manager and ask it to retreive the drivers off of the system/restore disc?....shortly, i will see if the sony web site has downloadable drivers for the laptop, if not, i may be screwed!
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I doubt you'll be able to get any WinME drivers off the system restore disk. Isn't that for XP Home?

    How big is the hard drive? Perhaps WinME is just not seeing it correctly.
    You might try creating a small FAT32 partition (2-15GB) at the start of the drive using DD and then boot from the WinME cd and see if you can install. Maybe you'll get lucky and WinME will have drivers.

    If you have any hard drive mode settings in the computer's BIOS, you might try setting it to COMPATIBLE or IDE (if it's on something else) and see if that helps. This may hurt performance in XP, though, if it drops the interface speed to the hard drive.

    If the laptop never had WinME as a OS option, I doubt Sony will list any drivers. You'll probably have to search the web for the chipset, video chip, audio chip, etc. and see if you can find something (assuming WinME doesn't have drivers built in).
     
  5. Da Mail Man

    Da Mail Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    ......thanks for the reply...i gave up after multiple tries!....i may try system commander instead and see what happens...i ck'ed the sony website and found no mention of drivers for anything other then xp and vista......again, THANKS FOR THE HELP AS ALWAYS!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.