OSS continuous beep & freeze

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by daveleau, May 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daveleau

    daveleau Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    I got a good copy of Bootwiz to boot my system, and it worked great a couple of times.

    Now, whenever I boot I get to Acronis OSS and if I wait for the OSS GUI to load, I get one long continuous beep, and the system freezes there. If I can catch OSS beforehand by hitting F6, it will take me to a menu showing Vista and I can boot normally. Any idea what is causing this?

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Does this happen only on warm boots or on warm and cold boots?

    Have you tried disabling the CD-ROM drivers? This seems to help quite a few problems?
     
  3. daveleau

    daveleau Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    It happens regardless of how I am booting. If I catch it before the GUI starts loading with an F6, I can get in and boot.

    How would I disable the CD drivers?

    Thanks!
    Dave
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you boot to OSS, the option is under the Tools >> Options >> Startup Options section: Do not load CD-ROM drivers

    I think the same options screen is available running OSS in Windows, but I don't have it up right now to check.

    Did anything change on the system from when it worked to when it didn't? Any BIOS changes, etc.?

    Can you post your current BOOTWIZ.OSS file? Perhaps something will show up in it.
     
  5. daveleau

    daveleau Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    My apologies for the delay. I got the system to boot, but I have to catch the system before OSS begins to load the GUI, or I still get the continuous beeping sound. Here is my current BOOTWIZ.OSS file.

    Thanks for the help!
    Dave

    Mudcrab - Please see this thread as I have changed my BOOTWIZ.OSS (probably) by installing Win RC 7 on a partition. If you could look for both a mistake in the BOOTWIZ.OSS and make Win RC 7 visible by OSS, I'd really appreciate it. (The attached file in this thread is now old.)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 23, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.