OSS can´t see Vista

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by tiergarten1130, Apr 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tiergarten1130

    tiergarten1130 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hy !!

    I have installed Vista Ultimate and DDS latest version Build 2161 german

    OSS can´t boot my Vista and if i activate OSS my original vista boot is corrupted so I have to repair it by booting from Vista install DVD and using the command "bootsect.exe -nt60 All".

    Wenn I Use the OSS Console and try to find an Installed OS there won´t be found anyone. Not by searching the Partition or the MBR.

    any Ideas o_O o_O o_O o_O
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Did you install OSS from Vista or from the rescue cd?

    When OSS is installed, boot to the OSS menu and check what build got installed. It needs to be 2,160 or later to even have a chace of directly detecting Vista.

    If all else fails, try the "cheat" method and place the following XP files into Vista's root directory: boot.ini, ntldr and ntdetect.com. You may need to edit the boot.ini file so it points to the correct partition.

    Previously this would work, though OSS will recognize Vista as XP. But it still should boot fine. I haven't personally tried this method with build 2,160, but will soon.

    OSS still has problems detecting Vista. I'm running into the same problems on my test computer.
     
  3. takisis666

    takisis666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    8
  4. tiergarten1130

    tiergarten1130 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for your ideas but im sorry, nothing helped

    @MudCrab

    My Version is 2.161 an the "cheat" doesn´t help.
    I installed OSS in both ways. Nothing worked better.

    @takisis666

    I allready read this thread, but i dont want to have XP on my machine.
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, tiergarten1130

    What are you trying to Dual Boot with your Vista Ultimate? o_O

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. tiergarten1130

    tiergarten1130 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Hy TheQuest !!

    HDD 1 ---> Vista x86
    HDD 2 ---> Vista x64
    HDD 3 ---> Datas (no system)

    I want the x86 System not to see the x64 System and also the other way, but both Systems schould see the Data HDD.

    tiergarten1130
     
  7. Mcnammara

    Mcnammara Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I also have the same problem. I sent email and report dump for acronis and had not solved. :thumbd:
    I started to use the management of the GRUB and was excellent. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :isay:
     
  8. tiergarten1130

    tiergarten1130 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Update :

    Yesterday I plugged in all HDD´s and started OSS Console from the 32bit System.

    I was surprised OSS found the 64bit System on the other HDD but not the 32bit System

    What can be the reason for such behavior o_O o_O o_O

    tiergarten1130
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    OSS is kind of tempermental when it comes to detecting OS's. I wish that it had the option of turning off auto-detection and would let you put the info in manually.

    I have also had situations where OSS would not recognize Vista (or XP). It seems to recognize linux OS's okay.

    If you are trying to keep the OS partitions hidden from each other it can further cause problems since OS doesn't seem to find anything on hidden partitions.

    I have had the best results doing the following. Boot from the rescue cd and start DD (you may find that full mode, or safe mode works best). Installing OSS from the BartPE cd didn't work for me. Using DD, set all the primary partitions visible and, if possible, set a non-Windows primary partition as the active partition (a small EXT3 or unused NTFS should do). Doing it this way will bypass the "cross-link" bug. Reboot and this time select to install OSS. You may want to install the OSS files to a non-OS partition (use a small FAT32 partition on another drive, for example). This keeps the OSS files separate from the OS's and makes doing partition restores easier. You can use a small FAT32 primary partition on your main drive if you want and in that case you can set it to active before the installation of OSS.


    Also note that (for me, at least -- I haven't spent the time to figure it out) the build for OSS on the rescuecd is 2,117 even though DD's build is 2,160 (OSS's build is correct in Windows, just wrong on the cd). OSS build 2,117 can't detect Vista. I installed it anyway and then booted into the recognized XP setup and installed OSS again, letting it update OSS. Then it was the correct build and Vista was found.


    Also note that OSS will "grab" any bootable devices it finds (USB Flash drives, USB hard drives, etc.) and modify them to boot from the OSS menu. This is the thing I hate most about OSS. If i forget to deactivate OSS before booting from my flash drive, I have to repair the MBR on the flash drive before it will work again. Otherwise you'll just get an Acronis error when trying to boot from it. Very irritating.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.