OSS/BOOTWIZ MUST BE "WIPED" when changing to other LOADERS

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by cortez, May 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    IF you are moving over to another loader other than an Acronis one, avoid massive headaches and WIPE the drive and start from scratch. The interactions of just deactivating OSS is not enough if you want to avoid all sorts of problems. HEADS -UP.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    This is a good point. I found this out recently while testing out Vista, OSS and BING. Just restoring a TI image of the drive didn't allow the bootmanager to work. I did a wipe, restored the image and then it worked. So now I wipe the beginning of the drive before switching bootmanagers.
     
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Just a guess, but you probably only have to wipe the first 62 sectors...
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Mark,

    I usually just start the wipe, let it run 30 seconds or so and then cancel it. Then I zero out the MBR and scroll through the first 62 sectors and make sure they're all zeroed out.
     
  5. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    Gentlemen: Good tips to save time. It took me about 1/2 hour to wipe the drive! -regards cortez
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.