OS X beta of ESET NOD suddenly causing massive ammounts of errors

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products Beta' started by Carbonyl, Aug 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Carbonyl

Carbonyl Registered Member

Hello. I've been using the ESET NOD OS X beta for several months now. I'm running the latest version, on OS X 10.6.4, and I've really been liking it so far. Unfortunately, today I've encountered a massive problem that's brought most of my computer usage to a halt.

When attempting to run a time machine backup, my computer ground to a halt. After having to forcibly reboot, I noticed the following in the kernal log while looking into the console:

8/1/10 11:38:03 AM kernel ERROR(V): ESET OnAccess module for MAC OS X: 'Get path from vnode failed' at line: 3009

This message was repeated roughly ten times every second, over and over, until the log terminated. I've never noticed this message before. When I rebooted, my machine re-entered some degree of normal operation, but any attempts to access files on my external drive or run another backup all resulted in the 'Get path from vnode failed' message filling up the kernal log, and the operation hanging.

Any assistance in this matter would be much appreciated. Thanks.

2. SweX

SweX Registered Member

Sorry no help from me unfortunately, but let's hope someone from the ESET staff will help you out.

I'm just wondering if you could tell me how the RAM and CPU usage is on Beta 2 ?

If you don't mind ;)
    Thanks, SweX

Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
  3. Carbonyl

Carbonyl Registered Member

Sure, no problem. At idle, ESET beta 2 takes pretty much no CPU time at all, and all four processes (ESET NOD32 AntiVirus 4, esets_kac, two instances of esets_daemon) take up a combined total of roughly ~60 MB of RAM.