OS not recognized | issue with Acronis OS-Selector ( AcronisDisk Director Suite 10)

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by country_user, May 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. country_user

    country_user Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello ,

    I have a problem with the tool Acronis OS-Selector (AcronisDisk Director Suite 10). The harddisk structure on the test PC
    looks like as follows:

    | C: Vista | WIN XP | D: | E: | Linux / | Linux Swap | Linux /home | A-Secure Zone |

    Partiton C: Pri. Act / NTFS
    Partiton WIN XP: Pri. Hidden / NTFS
    Partiton D: Extended / NTFS
    Partiton E: Extended / NTFS
    Linux /: Extended / ext3
    Linux swap: Extended / swap
    Linux /home: Extended / ext3
    A-Secure Zone: Extended / Fat32


    After a rebuild of the WIN XP partition with True Image 11 the OS Selector don`t recognize any longer the WIN XP partion as a bootlable OS. (neither automaticially nor manually via MBR detection)
    Before the rebuild WIN XP was recognized correctly. Has anybody an idea what the root cause for this issue can be and how to solve it?

    Thanks in advance for any help or suggestion
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Was the TI 11 image that you restored an image of the XP partition as it existed in this setup?

    When trying to get OSS to find the XP installation after the restore, is the XP partition hidden (it is in your list)? If so, try unhiding it first and then see if it can find it.

    Is the old XP OSS menu entry still showing up in the menu?
     
  3. country_user

    country_user Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    MudCrab, pls see my answers below:

    Was the TI 11 image that you restored an image of the XP partition as it existed in this setup? YES

    When trying to get OSS to find the XP installation after the restore, is the XP partition hidden (it is in your list)? If so, try unhiding it first and then see if it can find it. After unhiding also the OSS can´t find WINXP

    Is the old XP OSS menu entry still showing up in the menu? No
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you verified the boot.ini file values are correct in the XP partition?

    Did you restore the XP partition as Active?

    Can you please make a copy of the BOOTWIZ.OSS file and attach it to a post? (Instructions can be found here.)
    It may help to see it.
     
  5. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    Re: OS not recognized | issue with Acronis OS-Selector ( AcronisDisk Director Suite

    I would rule out a "partition ID drive letter"/"mounted device drive letter" mismatch on your windows xp partition. If that is your problem it's a quick fix, just change your "partition ID drive letter" so it matches your "mounted devices drive letter".

    The only reason I suggest that is that with the combination of windows xp/true image/multi partitions, can sometimes lead to those types of problems. It's just something that is quick to check and rule out.

    You can use a bartpe with savepart plugin to check the partition ID drive letter, also there is a demo(doesn't work on all the latest computers) of a "boot corrector" that can check it.
    http://www.freedownloadmanager.org/downloads/JustBoot_Boot_Corrector_38938_p/
     
  6. country_user

    country_user Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    MudCrab,

    In the meantime I have fully de-installed the OSS and have fixed the MBR with the original Vista CD.Afterwards I have reinstalled OSS on the Vista partition. What do you think happened? Now OSS can`t see VISTA. Very strange.....
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2008
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I didn't think DD10 was exactly Vista savvy, no?
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    DD 10 (build 4,942) generally works well with Vista. Some problems can arise if you starting mixing Vista and XP aligned partitions. Also, OSS has a problem detecting non-Microsoft OEM Vista installations and some "repaired" Vista installations. (You can change the BCD file so that OSS can't see Vista.)
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2008
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    country user,

    Try this file. I fixed a few errors and added in the Vista entry.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. country_user

    country_user Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hello MudCrab,

    Thank You so much !!!! Your work was successful ! With the new BOOTWIZ.OSS File from you everything works well again. I would like to ask you to tell me what you did and whether you know why the file with a re-install of OSS is not correct in the first instance.

    Once more : great job....THANK YOU !!!!
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You're welcome. I'm glad it worked.

    I fixed the OS "greyed out checkbox" bugs. See this thread: Ohhh OSS.

    I then added the Vista entry manually. Instructions can be found in Post #14 of this thread: Vista disappeared in dual boot

    I suspect the "repair" you did with the Vista DVD changed something. OSS is pretty picky about detecting Vista.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.