Optimum.net injects itself into Firefox

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by mattdocs12345, Dec 15, 2018.

  1. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,879
    Location:
    US
    I have Optimum at home (unfortunately it's a monopoly here) and recently I started getting pop up inside my browser on random web pages advertising one of their channels. How do I get rid of this?

    So far I used:
    HMP = zero malware
    WD = clean scan
     
  2. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Zemana is good at identifying and removing unwanted browser elements:

    https://www.zemana.com/

    15-day, fully functional, free-trial
     
  3. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,724
    Location:
    UK
  4. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,879
    Location:
    US
  5. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    924
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    I think there are two main options:
    1. Change ISP
    2. Connect to Internet through VPN or encrypted proxy.
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,257
    Location:
    Outer space
    Indeed. The only way to prevent the ISP from injecting content is to secure the connection. HTTPS everywhere helps by connecting over HTTPS when possible, but if a site is HTTP only it cannot magically make it HTTPS. So you need to secure the connection another way like VPN or encrypted proxy.
     
  7. mattdocs12345

    mattdocs12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    1,879
    Location:
    US
    Great I will buy a VPN service then send my ISP the bill, followed my demand payment letter, followed by small claims case.
     
  8. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    246
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I have the same ISP, use its router and modem and pay an outrageous monthly fee plus equipment charge for cable Internet only. I enjoyed some other stupidity from them but thankfully not the banner ads. Optimum/Altice truly is a monopoly in certain areas in the metro NYC region, mine included. I wish you the best in getting this resolved in your favor, I really do.
     
  9. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Before you do this, try this first: Click the HTTPS Everywhere icon and click "block all unencrypted requests".

    Unfortunately HTTPS Everywhere only helps on websites that is has been designed for. By enabling this option, it will try and connect over HTTPS for *all* websites.

    If the website still doesn't support HTTPS, you should get a notification window, allowing you to continue to it if you really want to.
     
  10. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Every time people spew out some trash anti-malware without even thinking what the issue might be, I think they are getting a kickback of some sort.
     
  11. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,377
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/optimum-net-injects-itself-into-firefox.411312/#post-2798883
     
  12. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.