Opera mem problem?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Tommy, Oct 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    I am running Opera 9.01 and following happens.

    1. Starting Opera with no page loaded -> ca. 14 MB Memory
    2. Surfing arround, 4 or 7 tabs loaded -> ca. 50-70 MB depending on the pages content
    3. Closing all tabs and Opera stays on 50-70 MB and does not go down.

    Somebody same expiriences? Is that normal or something wrong?
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    No problem here. About 16 MB on start up. 7 tabs is only just over 18 MB. (no animations or sound associated with any of the open pages) On shut down Opera exe. disappears from Task Manager and memory usage returns to normal for my lap top.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Useing 9.02 I had a high mem usage also so I went back to ver. 8.54 and don't have the problem now.
     
  4. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Sorry i ment 9.02 , cilly me.
     
  5. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    thought i was the only one using v 8. had a fresh install of windowz yesterday, installed 9 initially. halfway while installing other apps, thought about it, removed 9 and went back to 8.i use a lowend machine for conecting to the internet and resource usage is defntly felt, startup is longer. 9 sux. thats coming from me, a opera fan boy :D
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I went back to 8.54 also with the same issue along with a few others....



    snowbound
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    hmmmm...... Now you all have me wondering. Never really paid that much attention to mem. usage with Opera. Just knew what the seat of my pants told me. [MOVE]It was fast.[/MOVE]Now I`m curious. I now know how Opera 9.x is on usage time to drop back to 8.x and see how it go`s.
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    WOW.....you were all right as usual. Went back to 8.5. Memory usage cut almost in half. And my "seat of the pants zoom meter" notices the difference as well. :eek: :D Thanks for bringing it to my attention. :thumb:
     
  9. buzzqw

    buzzqw Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    here 9.3 ver 8629

    12 tabs open, plus 1 video tube = 112MB used, in opera config memory is set to auto

    BHH
     
  10. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
     
  11. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    its a weekly--- 9.03 8629 which i tried as well. same mem issues
     
  12. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Same here, went back to 8.54 because of that as well as because of diferent ZOOM feature.

    With Linux I have no problem running 9.02
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.