Opera...I have to admit!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ratchet, Nov 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,935
    I just installed it in a Sandboxie sandbox. I wasn't sure whether it would require a reboot so I took a snapshot with CTM too, but it didn't require one, so I've used it but have already deleted the sandbox. It does seem extremely fast. I hadn't tried it for a few years. I may install it try some addons, but I just don't know if I can give up my customized Firefox.
     
  2. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Yes you can. Firefox is nothing special, the functionality from a lot (though not all) of core extensions can be duped in other browsers as well, and vice versa.
     
  3. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear formerly: Sherlock_Holmes

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,515
    Location:
    Mumbai
    But what about the addons ? i have customized my ff with addons ... cant customize opera yet to the level of ff
     
  4. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    That's about as vague and rhetoric-ish as you can get. Depends on what you want to do.
     
  5. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear formerly: Sherlock_Holmes

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,515
    Location:
    Mumbai
  6. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    So? Unless you tell us exactly what functionality you want to duplicate in Opera, nobody will be able to help you.
     
  7. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear formerly: Sherlock_Holmes

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,515
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ghostery , scrapbook , last pass , linkification , tab mix plus , wot etc
     
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    WOT for Opera - http://my.opera.com/PH`/blog/2009/11/13/wot-for-opera

    (http://www.mywot.com/en/blog/208-user-created-WOT-for-opera-rocks)

    I haven't checked what ghostery and others (except lastpass) are for, so can't mention anything at the moment.

    I'm not familiar with last pass, and if there's an extension/users script alternative for Opera. but you could give Keepass Password Safe a try (browser independent and works for other apps as well).

    -Edit-

    https://lastpass.com/support_faqs.php#opera
     
  9. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear formerly: Sherlock_Holmes

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,515
    Location:
    Mumbai
    lastpass still not ready...that wot is a year old..ill wait for the addon...thanx for the links...
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    By the way, Opera has partnered with AVG sometime ago, and while I haven't researched for now, specially because I haven't been using Opera for a very long time now, I'm *guessing* AVG provides ratings based on what their malware signatures finds and based on what LinkScanner finds on websites, like exploits.

    -Edit-

    I've found this link so far about this matter: http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/opera_claims_50_jump_in_speed_integrates_avg.php

    One more link, but not much info: http://www.h-online.com/security/ne...rates-AVG-s-Web-Threat-Data-Feed-1031862.html , though it points to here http://www.avg.com/gb-en/gsa-data-feed-sdk
     
  11. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear formerly: Sherlock_Holmes

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,515
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Wouldnt that avg thingy make opera slow ?

    there should be browser section here at wilders too..so many specific browser fans
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I don't use Opera, I wouldn't know; but I'm guessing not, because whatever url you enter would be verified against a blacklist. It wouldn't be much slow. I can't say how slow or not it is, as I said I don't use Opera.

    You use it, so what do you think of it's speed? Is it slow? You're already making use of AVG protection, because Opera partnered with AVG.
     
  13. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear formerly: Sherlock_Holmes

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,515
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Im using chrome , ff , opera and ie8
    ie is slowest
    and other 3 i dont find any speed difference :blink:
    ff startup is sloweeeeeesssttt :mad:
    other than that even with many many addons ff's speed feels same as chrome and opera atleast for me o_O
     
  14. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    So, all is OK when it is OK. Opera isn't sluggish when it verifies an url against the database provided by AVG. ;)
     
  15. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.

    I found that Firefox loaded the slowest also.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I tried Opera quite a few years ago, and again about 2 years ago and I find it geared to the high school and college age dudes, just in how the "Community" is set up for one thing. I didn't always find it stable either. I really tried to like it the last time around, but wound up going back to my FF. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.