Opera...I have to admit!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ratchet, Nov 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,906
    I just installed it in a Sandboxie sandbox. I wasn't sure whether it would require a reboot so I took a snapshot with CTM too, but it didn't require one, so I've used it but have already deleted the sandbox. It does seem extremely fast. I hadn't tried it for a few years. I may install it try some addons, but I just don't know if I can give up my customized Firefox.
     
  2. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    Yes you can. Firefox is nothing special, the functionality from a lot (though not all) of core extensions can be duped in other browsers as well, and vice versa.
     
  3. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    But what about the addons ? i have customized my ff with addons ... cant customize opera yet to the level of ff
     
  4. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    That's about as vague and rhetoric-ish as you can get. Depends on what you want to do.
     
  5. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
  6. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    So? Unless you tell us exactly what functionality you want to duplicate in Opera, nobody will be able to help you.
     
  7. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    ghostery , scrapbook , last pass , linkification , tab mix plus , wot etc
     
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    WOT for Opera - http://my.opera.com/PH`/blog/2009/11/13/wot-for-opera

    (http://www.mywot.com/en/blog/208-user-created-WOT-for-opera-rocks)

    I haven't checked what ghostery and others (except lastpass) are for, so can't mention anything at the moment.

    I'm not familiar with last pass, and if there's an extension/users script alternative for Opera. but you could give Keepass Password Safe a try (browser independent and works for other apps as well).

    -Edit-

    https://lastpass.com/support_faqs.php#opera
     
  9. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    lastpass still not ready...that wot is a year old..ill wait for the addon...thanx for the links...
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    By the way, Opera has partnered with AVG sometime ago, and while I haven't researched for now, specially because I haven't been using Opera for a very long time now, I'm *guessing* AVG provides ratings based on what their malware signatures finds and based on what LinkScanner finds on websites, like exploits.

    -Edit-

    I've found this link so far about this matter: http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/opera_claims_50_jump_in_speed_integrates_avg.php

    One more link, but not much info: http://www.h-online.com/security/ne...rates-AVG-s-Web-Threat-Data-Feed-1031862.html , though it points to here http://www.avg.com/gb-en/gsa-data-feed-sdk
     
  11. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Wouldnt that avg thingy make opera slow ?

    there should be browser section here at wilders too..so many specific browser fans
     
  12. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I don't use Opera, I wouldn't know; but I'm guessing not, because whatever url you enter would be verified against a blacklist. It wouldn't be much slow. I can't say how slow or not it is, as I said I don't use Opera.

    You use it, so what do you think of it's speed? Is it slow? You're already making use of AVG protection, because Opera partnered with AVG.
     
  13. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Im using chrome , ff , opera and ie8
    ie is slowest
    and other 3 i dont find any speed difference :blink:
    ff startup is sloweeeeeesssttt :mad:
    other than that even with many many addons ff's speed feels same as chrome and opera atleast for me o_O
     
  14. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    So, all is OK when it is OK. Opera isn't sluggish when it verifies an url against the database provided by AVG. ;)
     
  15. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.

    I found that Firefox loaded the slowest also.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I tried Opera quite a few years ago, and again about 2 years ago and I find it geared to the high school and college age dudes, just in how the "Community" is set up for one thing. I didn't always find it stable either. I really tried to like it the last time around, but wound up going back to my FF. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.