Opera crashes

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Jun 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anyone having off n on crashes with latest OPera. I am getting this and I am suspecting GesWall as the cause as it never happened before. May be GW rules for latest Opera neeed to be a bit different than older versions.
     
  2. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello aigle,

    Although, not the same, I am not experiencing any crashes with Opera 9.51 RC 1 and DefenseWall. If you are interested, you may download and install the latest version of Opera from the link below and see if it fixes your problem. If you are inclined to do so, for best results please install the regular "Windows" installer version.

    http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/

    Hope this helps.


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    No crashes here with 9.51
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ok, anyone using it with GW?
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I wil see, might try that. Thanks for the suggestion.
     
  6. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    There's a 9.51?
    I've got 9.50 and check for updates says I am using the latest. o_O
     
  7. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  8. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
  9. PiCo

    PiCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    352
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Some friends of mine had problem with flash when using Opera, it hanged and crashed.

    I don't use it myself, why would I when then there is ff3 :ninja:
     
  10. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Happened to me on guitar hero site :D.
     
  11. Arup

    Arup Guest

    I have had absolutely no problems with Flash in versions 9.50, 9.51 or the latest RC1.

    As for the reason of using FF3 over Opera, guess some of us like the interface, speed and security of Opera over FF3, its all about choice and the right to exercise it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2008
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have had one minor problem with Opera 9.5 but it had nothing to do with flash. I haven't had a flash problem in any version of Opera I have had since version 1.0 demo version in 1994
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Yeah, don't see any problems here either, not with flash or otherwise. Using 9.50 in Linux, very fast.....
     
  14. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I am using the 9.50 final with no issues.I did have intermittent stability issues with the final version before 9.50.And I wasn't running GesWall or any similar program.
     
  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I got another crash. GW support denies any such issues so far. I will run it out of GW for the time being and will see how it goes.
     
  16. Arup

    Arup Guest


    WOW! Big C, you go back even further than me when it comes to Opera, I have been a loyal user since version 2x.
     
  17. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No crashes here but using the final only for a few days. At the moment running 10074 (beta), no drama's.

    Gerard
     
  18. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello aigle,

    If you are interested, you can try installing the latest version of Opera(9.51 RC 2; build 10080) which was released today and see if fixes your crashes.

    http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/2008/06/27/opera-9-51-rc-2

    FYI, I am using this latest release with no problems whatsoever.


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  19. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks, but let me pinpoint the issue. I am now running Opera out of GW and will seee for few days how it goes.

    Anytime i might download this version BTW. Depends upon my mood as well.
     
  20. L815

    L815 Guest

    Opera 9.51 RC1 with no issues. It's getting better everytime! :argh:
     
  21. Arup

    Arup Guest

  22. bathisland

    bathisland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Posts:
    85
    Opera 9.5 just crashed on me. First time ever. and was not running flash.

    Had about 5-6 tabs open. Something to do with mem usage. But this baby has never crashed on me before....o_O Hope 9.5 is not going to be a problem
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ok, I installed it and will see how it goes. They have listed some crahes in bug fixes.

    Thanks for all replies.
     
  24. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,504
    I am having problems in loading pages previously visited. They will not auto refresh but instead seem to load from the cash.

    It was fine in 9.27 but all has changed in 9.50, also whereas in the past it was easy to go reinstall the previous version, with I uninstall 9.5 or install 9.27 over the top it will only part load and stop with a high CPU load. This is running in XP SP3

    Any ideas please.
     
  25. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Try a clean install of Opera including removal of your hidden profile file in Documents and Settings Application folder and then fresh install Opera 9.51 RC2 and see if that solves your problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.