Opera and Java script errors

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Nov 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I have turned off Java and Java Script in Opera and given these permissions for specific sites.
    I gave yahoo.com, login.yahoo.com and us.f332.mail.yahoo.com all these permission but still I get errors when I login to see my mail. If I allow Java and Java script globally, then I don,t get such errors. May be something related to Opear itself as I have NoScript with FF as well with Java script permissions to yahoo.com and there are no such errors with FF.
    Same thing happens when I go to cnet.com and download.com using Opera.
    Any help will be appreciated.

    thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    It's revers. You have to enable Java in the main configuration and than disable it for certain web pages.
    If you disable it general, you can't enable it for some pages.
     
  3. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Are u sure? I have done it for many other sites that work OK.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Hm, now you made me thinkink. I will give that some try on different pages.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s actually NoScript equivalent in Opera.
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    if you just want to disable it so it never pops up you can do this -

    Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Content>Javascript Options>and uncheck open javascript console on error

    i just do this though -
    Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Content>and disable javascript, then if you want to let a site use javascript (or the a site you go to isn't working correctly) then right-click on the page and select Edit site preferences Scripting TAB and enable javascript and make sure open javascript console on error isn't selected

    all those sites use ssl, so maybe it's something to do with that though. it looks like it's to do with the certificates on the pages. i can't really help you with that.
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Hi, the pop ups on the right side do appear in any case. Console option was ticked by me intentionally hust to see if I can get some clue but it was out of my scope.
    In FF I have similar settings for Java and Java scripts but no errors there.
     
  8. dylanfan

    dylanfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Posts:
    187
    Nope... The right way to go is to disable in general, and just allow site by site at will.
    Cheers
     
  9. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    It's a common problem I have found with Opera, here's another site.
    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/

    The Opera version is 9.10, Build 8679 Running on XP SP2

    The pop up says:
    The address type is unknown or unsupported
    javascript:'';
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 10, 2007
  10. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Hope you don't mind me jumping in here aigle.

    I'm not experiencing the issues you are but something different. When i view some sites that have automatic scrolling text, it works fine in Firefox but in Opera, the text just stands still. It is not scrolling. Any ideas here would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    U are welcome! Any screenshots/ URLs to understand exactly.
     
  12. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Hi tobacco can you give a url to the site that is causing the problem, to see if I am experiencing the smae problem.

    This site has scrolling text which works fine in my Opera
    http://www.comriesoftware.net/codewidgets/product.aspx?key=80
     
  13. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Yes, here is an example of it showing properly in Firefox(auto scrolling), but in Opera(not scrolling). On the left, look at 'ShoutBox'

    http://www.fcbzone.com/
     
  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Confirmed. It is site specific I think. More sites work with FF than Opera and even more work with IE than FF.
     
  15. tradetime

    tradetime Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,000
    Location:
    UK
    Yes I see what you mean, no auto scrolling in my Opera setup either, but scrolling fine in IE7
    Interesting aigle, says it is not working in his FF, maybe if you guys compare FF setup you may be able to identify the component responsible for the scrolling.
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Works in FF with java script but not in Opera.
     
  17. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,497
    Location:
    British Columbia
    I've gone to a few other sites with Shoutboxes' and it's the same. Works in IE & Firefox but not Opera.
     
  18. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    So opera doesn,t like its users to shout here n there! Sober!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.