Opera 9.5 final out.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Arup, Jun 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arup

    Arup Guest

  2. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Until proven otherwise, it appears that Opera 9.5 has beaten FireFox 3.0 to the punch by five days. Congratulations Opera!


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks
    woot gonna upgrade now
    gonna go on a hunt for haute secure options now.
    i have tryed firefox2 and liked it. but opera 9.5 is awesome!
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  4. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
  5. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Have you tried this http://www.fanboy.co.nz/adblock/

    Works nicely on my system along with the CSS file for Element Hider.
     
  6. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello lodore,

    Haute Secure(HS) functionality within Opera 9.5 is enabled by default when "Enable Fraud Protection" is ticked.


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello CogitoErgoSum,
    cool thanks for the info.
    anyway to test it?
     
  8. Arup

    Arup Guest

    http://www.verybadsite.com

    Enable fraud protection and then go to this site.

    ~added pic given some have questioned the test link's validity....Bubba~

    Haute.JPG
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 12, 2008
  9. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Will try it right now...
     
  10. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    Any idea when the linux version will be available?

    Edit: Ok, I see it is available now, although the update check on my beta shows I have the latest version.
     
  11. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    remarkable is the speed gain,way much faster then earlier version. :thumb:
     
  12. steve161

    steve161 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Posts:
    681
    Location:
    New York
    Absolutely. It is actually noticeably faster on my system than the last beta.
     
  13. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Ah, so HauteSecure works with IceWeasel in Debian as well?

    Opera is getting too advanced for me :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2008
  14. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    Looks good but I have a problem after upgrading to version 9.5 as it does not work on my Limited User a/c (LUA). Tried uninstalling and reinstalling to no avail so still not working on my LUA. Very unhappy.

    This is how I did my upgrade:

    1) Followed Opera link from this website to download 9.5 version (English).
    2) Clicked install and followed instructions.
    3) Then clicked on Opera icon to start and it worked fine in Admin a/c.

    Then, as usual, I cleaned up using CCleaner as I did in the past with all new installation and went out.

    4) Shut down PC and went out ..

    5) Came back - restarted PC by login into LUA to start Opera.
    6) Error message appeared.

    7) Reinstalled all CCleaner registry back to before it was cleaned.
    :cool: Restarted Opera - still did not work in LUA.

    9) Reinstalled Opera 9.5 again on top of the present Opera 9.5 with Repair option which went fine.

    10) Log-in to LUA to restart Opera but error message still appeared.

    11) This time uninstalled Opera 9.5 completely and downloaded from website again for another 9.5 version (just used different site download) to install.

    12) Reinstalled Opera 9.5 and it worked perfectly in Admin a/c but when I tried it on LUA - same error message appeared again.

    I give up ...

    Not a happy bunny.

    :mad:

    P/s: any help please? I like Opera very much but if this does not work I will just stick to Firefox until such time as I can sort out the problem ...
     
  15. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
  16. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    No no, HauteSecure is that good. :rolleyes:
     
  17. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    I am impressed by the speed boost of 9.50 compared to 9.27.

    Not using fraud protection though (i feel it like spyware, having a site controlling the site i have to visit and tell me if it's good).

    Oh, if i type something in the address bar, it gives me a pop up list of "possible words" from my favourites, which i find very annoying. Does anyone know a way to disable this?
     
  18. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Opera running fine here on my LUA account on XP64, also upgraded my previous 9.27 without any hitch.
     
  19. HURST

    HURST Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,419
    Just one question...
    When I go to verybadsite.com, I get this screen:

    haute.JPG

    Only thing is... I'm using Firefox ATM...

    Is this a fake test?

    EDIT: sorry, re-posted what Mrk asked...
     
  20. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Using Opera 9.5 with fraud protection enabled, I get this when visiting verybadsite.com:
     

    Attached Files:

  21. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello Firebytes,

    I confirm your findings with Opera 9.5. I can also confirm that if one visits http://www.verybadsite.com/ with FireFox, one will see the screenshot that HURST has posted in post #20.


    Peace & Gratitude,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  22. Firebytes

    Firebytes Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    903
    Maybe its more of a "Hey, wanna see what it will look like if Haute Secure blocks something?" screenshot type thing, instead of an actual test.
     
  23. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    does anyone else have issues with opera 9.5?
    every so often opera just flashs alot, nearly enough to give someone a seizure. then the taskbar looks weird and only way to get opera working again is to crash it in task manager and reopen.
    seems to be something to do with java games.
    it has been fine most of the day but since around 6pm or so it started happerning every few hours.
     
  24. Zero3K

    Zero3K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Posts:
    340
    In order to get rid of that, go to opera:config, uncheck Addressbar Content Search and then click Save.
     
  25. Fuzzfas

    Fuzzfas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Posts:
    2,753
    Thank you very much. I found the option as you indicated and disabled it, but it doesn't seem to work. :( I saved, closed Opera, relaunched it, controlled that it is unchecked and it STILL shows me links from my bookmarks when i start typing something in address bar...

    EDIT: Just found the solution.From "Operauser" in http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r20630527-Update-Opera-950-Final

    "Go to opera:config and search for "drop"
    Then uncheck "auto dropdown" and click save"
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.