opening one part of a backup set?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nelsonm, Feb 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Hi all,

    I thought i had created a single image backup but appearently created a 2 file backup set. I deleted the first one and now i can't open or mount the second file. When i try to open the archive, it wants me to "Please, locate volume 1".

    Is there a way to open one file of a backup set?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello nelsonm,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    The most probable reason for the issue is that your destination hard drive has FAT32 file system. FAT32 supports 4GB file size. That's why the archive is divided into several parts.

    Also you can check the archive splitting value in default backup options.

    You are unable to retrieve the information from the backup file if one of the parts of the archive has been deleted.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. chills

    chills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    So if I want to verify the multi-file archive, or do a restore, do I need to do each file in turn?

    Similarly, do I need to mount each file in the Acronis app if I want to look at the individual folders and files? I'm using WinXP ...

    Duh - I guess I should have read the docs for the external drive before I used it! Then I'd have known it was pre-formatted FAT32 and not NTFS!!

    Thanks in advance.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chills,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    In order to restore multi volume backup archive you should select the last volume from the set, no need to select all parts for restore.

    The same goes for mount option, select the last volume for mount in order to find necessary files/folders for restore.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. chills

    chills Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for the reply -- that makes it clear.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.