OpenDNS Problems

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by cet, Nov 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

cet Registered Member

I have been using OpendNS for a long time.But this week I noticed that I can not enter Wilderssecurity most of the time because of time- out. I get nameservers failing prompt.Is anyone experiencing similar problems?
    I am now using my ISP's DNS servers.Everything seems normal.

2. Fad

Fad Registered Member

I have been using OpenDNS for a couple of years without issue, but had exactly the same problem as you just over the past few days, so I have also gone back to using my ISPs servers.

3. Boyfriend

Boyfriend Registered Member

OpenDNS is also causing problem for me. I switched to Norton DNS. It is working flawlessly.

4. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

5. noone_particular

noone_particular Registered Member

I ran into the same problem today using Open DNS. Couldn't reach this site. I'd originally switched to Open DNS because my ISPs DNS servers were unreliable. Until now, I had no reason to consider switching back.

At the moment, I'm trying a different idea. I left Open DNS as my primary DNS server and added my ISPs DNS server as the secondary. When I set the firewall to alert to DNS traffic, it shows that this is working as I'd hoped, checking Open DNS first, then my ISP if Open DNS fails.

For sites that you commonly use, like this one, you could always add it and its IP to your hosts file. That was its intended purpose.

6. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

Dyn worked fine for some reason.

7. jasonbourne

jasonbourne Registered Member

Yeah same here. Says. did not load properly or something. Had no problems with Google DNS, Comodo DNS, DynDNS and ClearCloud. But with OpenDNS it may open but when I open a different page or search it's hit and miss then wham all does not properly load for wilders'.

8. MikeBCda

MikeBCda Registered Member

Maybe a little off-topic, but ...