Open $ISR Snapshot Folder

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by dickcu, Dec 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    I'm using the original FirstDefense ISR from Raxco, version 3.21.205 which has served me well for several years. A few months ago I built a new computer, totally different CPUs, from AMD to Intel. I have one of my old archived snapshots that I would like to enter. I copied the archive to a regular snapshot but because of the different operating systems it won't boot on the new Intel computer. Does anyone know of a way to enter the snapshot in the $IRS folder on the C-drive. There are a couple of files in that snapshot I really need. Secondly, is there a way to identify which snapshot is attributed to the numbered folders. I have 0-7 in $ISR Folder. I know I can delete the snapshot, check the numbers and then recopy it to find the number but I'm looking for a simpler way with perhaps a FirstDefense ISR tool.
    Thanks all for any help!
    Dick
     
  2. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    I have figured out how to identify which snapshot with which numbered folder. Now I just need to know if there's a way to enter the snapshot folder.
    Again thanks for any help!
     
  3. Coff

    Coff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    UK
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Malware Defender is also able to grab files from the snapshots.

    Cheers
     
  5. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    Thanks to you both for your help. Actually I was able to stop FirstDefense ISR Services with a run command which allowed me access to copy the snapshot contents to another drive.
    Thanks again,
    Dick
     
  6. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    I should have mentioned that the free version of XYplorer v5.55 also did work.
     
  7. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Everything search engine thread
     
  8. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    I can't open .arc files with version 5.55,its not supported as you can see in tab preview formats in configuration screen.
     
  9. USAAlone

    USAAlone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    101

    Hi,


    Arc files is just a file. To add a archive the file must be imported, in to FD-ISR.
    You can also boot the archive by copying it to the C drive. Go in to options and set the folder, where your archive is located.


    Daniel
     
  10. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Hmm..... I know that but i thought that it is possible to open the archive on my external drive with xyplorer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.