Open $ISR Snapshot Folder

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by dickcu, Dec 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    I'm using the original FirstDefense ISR from Raxco, version 3.21.205 which has served me well for several years. A few months ago I built a new computer, totally different CPUs, from AMD to Intel. I have one of my old archived snapshots that I would like to enter. I copied the archive to a regular snapshot but because of the different operating systems it won't boot on the new Intel computer. Does anyone know of a way to enter the snapshot in the $IRS folder on the C-drive. There are a couple of files in that snapshot I really need. Secondly, is there a way to identify which snapshot is attributed to the numbered folders. I have 0-7 in $ISR Folder. I know I can delete the snapshot, check the numbers and then recopy it to find the number but I'm looking for a simpler way with perhaps a FirstDefense ISR tool.
    Thanks all for any help!
    Dick
     
  2. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    I have figured out how to identify which snapshot with which numbered folder. Now I just need to know if there's a way to enter the snapshot folder.
    Again thanks for any help!
     
  3. Coff

    Coff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    UK
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Malware Defender is also able to grab files from the snapshots.

    Cheers
     
  5. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    Thanks to you both for your help. Actually I was able to stop FirstDefense ISR Services with a run command which allowed me access to copy the snapshot contents to another drive.
    Thanks again,
    Dick
     
  6. dickcu

    dickcu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Seattle USA
    I should have mentioned that the free version of XYplorer v5.55 also did work.
     
  7. mike21

    mike21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    416
    Everything search engine thread
     
  8. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    I can't open .arc files with version 5.55,its not supported as you can see in tab preview formats in configuration screen.
     
  9. USAAlone

    USAAlone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Posts:
    90

    Hi,


    Arc files is just a file. To add a archive the file must be imported, in to FD-ISR.
    You can also boot the archive by copying it to the C drive. Go in to options and set the folder, where your archive is located.


    Daniel
     
  10. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Hmm..... I know that but i thought that it is possible to open the archive on my external drive with xyplorer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.