ONLY On-demand scanner norascan

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bellgamin, Sep 27, 2016.

  1. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I don't run a real-time AV. However, I like to do on-demand (OD) scans at least daily, at night, while I sleep. I presently use Hitman, Herdprotect, & Zemana Antimalware but I still prowl the web for new OD AVs to play with.

    I found a new OD AV scanner -- "norascan" -- at noralabs dot com, which is home-ported in Belgium. Norascan's GUI is on the short list for "world's ugliest GUI" -- it's very easy to work with, but it's NOT a pretty sight.

    When not in use, norascan uses zero cpu & zilch ram. I'm keeping it, & shall use it now & then, because ... uh ... I want to. o_O

    If someone tests norascan out on some nasties (I don't own any nasties myself) I would appreciate to hear what they conclude.
     
  2. Oximoronman

    Oximoronman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    Posts:
    87
  3. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Belgium?
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    I see > no need to reboot after installation
    I do not see 8.1/10 > Operating Systems: Microsoft ® Windows 2000, XP, Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 2003, Windows 2008
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    It does support Windows 10.

    From the changelog for v2.9:
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
    Okay, I don't have "nasties" but, I'll test/run in shadow.
    Edit: their Contact Us form > Hover over the left image and enter the security code into the right text field. = no code
    Missing required information:Wrong security code or expiration of the validity!
    Maybe I need to be logged in...?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2016
  7. mood

    mood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    857
    i don't see a security code too :confused:
     
  8. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    I think that webpage is broken.
     
  9. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    1) Goto http://centralops.net/co/DomainDossier.aspx
    2) Enter noralabs.com in the box
    3) Enter checkmark in block "domain Whois record"
    4) Hit go
    5) Read
    NOTE: country code "BE" = Belgium

    (@ Oxymoronman) -- I have no idea what engine they use. My guess: one of their own devisement?
     
  10. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    I met him more than 5 years ago and it was the same "rough" as today...actually I thought that Norascan had been abandoned ca 3 yars ago but it looks it's still alive :)
    From their page
    http://www.noralabs.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=23&Itemid=27
    And some info about scanner
    https://www.windows10download.com/noralabs-norascan/

    The old thread on Wilders
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/any-thoughts-about-norascan-from-noralabs.349239/
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    It certainly appears to be a Belgium based company. The website's owner's address is in Belgium. The website is hosted in the Netherlands.

    Some companies from outside the US, say they are American, when they aren't.
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,282
  13. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    It uploaded just fine for me. Maybe Nora's server can't handle much of a load.
     
  14. Secure_Guy

    Secure_Guy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    I have just tested it.
    It doesn't seem that good so far, according to my short test.