Only McAfee Loaded Successfully

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jjc225, Oct 14, 2014.

  1. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    I was having slowdown issues with a computer (Vista 32-bit os) which had not been started for about a year and had no av installed, but still a pretty good computer (Lenovo Ideapad Y510). I started trying several av's for which I had licenses. I first tried AVG internet security, but it did not load. Then I tried the new Trend Micro internet security. It too did not load (I remember the error code, #1603). Then I tried Roboscan Pro, which did not load. Then I tried Norton internet security, and it did not load. I had one more program, McAfee Total Security. Before it started loading it said that it would need to clean up the computer, and it spent about 30 minutes scanning. But after the scan it came through and loaded. I guess this was a heavily infested system which only McAfee was able to defeat. Quite impressive, but of course with only a limited sample of five av's. But I thought I'd share my experience.
     
  2. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Thanks for sharing, although I personally have steered away from McAfee as it's very heavy, but now when I am fixing some client's computer that has a similar issue where the AV won't even load, I'll try this. Thanks
     
  3. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    usually on heavily infested system I use MBAM... never failed me :)
     
  4. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    You generally don't install AV's on infected systems.

    Instead you should have run Norton Power Eraser, then installed Norton. Or Hitmanpro, or Herdprotect, or even Combofix since it was Vista. Rating an AV on whether it can be installed on a trashed system is meaningless.

    Or the tried and true MSP combo: ADWCleaner-->Combofix-->Power Eraser/HerdProtect. Then install a normal AV.
     
  5. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    Glad to hear McAfee was able to take care of the problem.

    On the other hand, McAfee will never ever be installed on my systems. I was part of a class action lawsuit in the late 90's, and McAfee settled for a small amount of cash and free antivirus program. Since Intel has taken over ownership, I am sure it will be great again.
     
  6. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Thanks for the info...nothing but cu-do's at this point for McAfee...and it wasn't heavy on my Windows 7.
     
  7. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    There is no set rule really, but a rescue CD from several companies would be the first approach to an infested system which doesn't let straight installs from AVs. It's good to know though that McAfee managed where others failed.
     
  8. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Forticlient is very good on infected systems as well, and it's free.

    But yeah, generally we either flatten a system, or in the case of crucial systems, run rescues, or repair tools.
     
  9. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! I second Rompin's assessment...McAfee...has improved Big Time! My only concern was The Scheduling a Scan...apparently this has been a Long Standing issue with McAfee...if it's Resolved...I'll consider re-installing it in a Heart Beat. Sincerely...Securon
     
  10. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    224
    Thanks for all the feedback. I honestly did not know the status of the computer when I started. By about the third failed attempt to install an av, though, things started dawning on me that it could be very infected. I was just running through my licenses in no order. I was indeed going to try Malwarebytes or Dr. Web CureIt, but I tried McAfee and it worked. I just wish McAfee would show you what exactly it cleaned, but it doesn't. It just goes straight into the installation of the program.
     
  11. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    You mean there was no record, logs, nothing about the existence of malware? Pity because one can only speculate about what the reasons were. Have you run any other applications like MBAM or HitmanPro after the McAfee clean up?
     
  12. 031

    031 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Bangladesh
    I have cleaned many infected system and my experience is antivirus live cds are the most effective and fastest solution. I always had great results with Dr. web live cd. It is fast, always up to date and provides a beautiful working environment (http://www.freedrweb.com/livedisk).
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    Are you sure you were infected? Just because you are not able to install security software does not mean you are infected. It sounds much more like problems with Windows in which case running Windows Repair (All In One) from tweaking.com, should get Windows running properly again, and it's free.

    I know McAfee said it needed to clean your system, so maybe there was something there. But, the problems you describe sound much more like Windows problems than problems from infectons.
     
  14. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    That's true as well.. MSI corruption, all kinds of issues. Shane's repair tool (Tweaking.com) would probably fix it, along with SFC.

    If Mcafee doesn't have logs of removal, then it may have not removed anything.
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    keep in mind folks, what is crappy one day may not be the next. A few years ago McAfee was crap. I said 2 years ago they were on the road for a comeback after Intel acquired them and were going to very good again and folks laughed at me. Well the tests prove they have found their hitch again and are very good at malware removal. I admit they product has to get lighter and next year you just may see what Intel has planned for them. :) Shhh
     
  16. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    In total agreement here. How many people thought Trend was good until I posted about 2015? Trend 2015 is poised to become one of the most powerful consumer AV solutions due to a near re-write of the architecture of it. Now Trend is very powerful, check some Youtube reviews of 2015, some reviewers were unable to infect test machines. Also AVC it scored 100% if I recall. So past prejudices of Trend merit no consideration today. Also take a look at Norton. I boycotted Norton for nearly 13 years, but I purchased a 2 year, 10PC license recently - Norton 2015 is fantastic.

    If Mcafee kicks things up, I will be the first in line to deploy them again.
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    Agreed. And possibly the reverse. I have used many products over the years. Some I would not touch now. Some I am using now I would not have before. You can't slam a product based on a 15 year old opinion, or possibly even a 1 year old opinion.
     
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    36 FPs in the Dynamic Test and 16 FPs in the File Detection Test, I still wouldn't trust McAfee on my computers...
     
Loading...