online armour vs prevx1

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by lodore, Oct 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi,

    memory useage of online armour? screenshot




    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
  2. archie123

    archie123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    People seem very preoccupied woth memory usage , im a gamer , i run nod32 , sunbet kerio and prevx1 all the time , even when gaming , whether i run benchmarks with that lot running or not i still get the same results.

    Granted i have 2 gig of very fast ram but even if you only have 1 gig i wouldnt worry about it
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ok thanks. i cant wait to try the new lighter f-secure.
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I'm more interested in the differences between Prevx1 and Online Armor regarding functions and working methods, than memory comparisions.
    I can't do anything with memory and memory doesn't protect my computer.
    You can't blame a software that your memory is too small in order to run it smoothly. Expand your memory and the problem is fixed. :)
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    very true. i want to know more about that as well.

    since I can use my current f-secure license for the 2007 version im gonna give it a chance, i got a license till December anyway so if its good i can always keep it and if not dump it.
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    You can either choose for Prevx1 or Online Armor, that doesn't matter.
    I choosed Prevx1, because :
    - I like the philosophy behind Prevx1
    - it targets all malwares
    - it's simple and easy to understand for less-knowledgeable users
    - it uses whitelists and blacklists, the latter isn't my favority one, but nothing is perfect.
    - the Community Database is managed by knowledgeable people, who decide what is good or bad for users like me and housewives.
    If Prevx1 isn't perfect, you can improve it, rather than ditching it. :)
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    good point. i do like both.
     
  8. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Why not use both. A friend of mine uses both without any issue's.

    muf
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    that would use to much resourse
     
  10. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I prefer to learn softwares separately and I installed Prevx1 in an extreme environment without any other security softwares, except a firewall.
    If I combine Prevx1 with Online Armor, I can't see what is missing in Prevx1. I like it extreme, it's more fun and more exciting. ATI + FDISR are there to save my skin. :)
     
  11. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    No contest Prevx - very good and pretty much set and forget
     
  12. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Voila, my choice is already good, my intuition didn't let me down as usual. :)
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    lol ye prevx1 is great.

    but if f-secure is a free upgrade i will be using that till my license runs out.

    one question do i need trend micro antispyware if i use prevx1 and an av?
     
  14. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    In theory, you don't need any scanner with Prevx1 on your computer, but I wouldn't do this unless you are an adventurer like me and well armed to recover your system. Just add Prevx1 to your existing security, that's much safer. :)
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i was gonna add it to my current setup. but i dont really need a payed real time antispyware. because the HIPS will cover me.
     
  16. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Probably no point having a dedicated realtime AS running in your setup, but an on-demand scanner is always a useful "Just to be on the safe side". If you've never seen this site before there are a few links to various web resource, online scanners and more besides. http://www.security-ops.eu.tt/

    muf
     
  17. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I have used both Prevx1 and Online Armor for a long time now with no conflict. You can't really put them in the same category (maybe later, time will tell), but one does complement the other well. I use the AV+ version of Online Armor, meaning I have Online Armor, Kaspersky AV Engine, and Prevx1. I know you don't want to be reminded of what they do, but later when the firewall is finished, all you would need for a good layer of defense would be Online Armor AV+ Firewall and Prevx1.

    dja2k
     
  18. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    On my system OA (oasrv.exe) runs 4972k and prevx1 (pxagent.exe) runs 15244k,but memory useage is not as important to me as the security of my computer. So as you can see i have both and they do work well together.
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you could only use one of em which one would it be?
    how many programs do you need?

    i have been using f-secure internet security for nearly 2 years and have never got infected by a virus, Trojan etc. but have had a few bit of spyware but got rid of them easy.
     
  20. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Well that's a tough questian. Look N Stop's my firewall,NOD32 for anti virus,XPL ScoketShield for exploits and sites known for malware,OA for hands on hips,Prevx1 for community hips. (works differant then OA) BOClean if everything else misses something bad. ewido+a squared for on demand both very good scanners. Spyware blaster? its free and i like the program. So i would have to say if you could only have 1 Prevx1 or OA is to try them both then decide for yourself.
     
  21. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Hey lodore, first of all, I can't seem to wonder why you are concerned with memory usage when f-secure internet security uses more than lets say Kaspersky Internet Security. I wouldn't consider using OA over Prevx1 or vise versa. I have never been infected with any spyware whatsoever with this two, tested scanners (trendmicro antispyware, spyware terminator, ewido, a-squared, adaware, and spybot).

    IMO, its a matter of personal choice when you think about running OA and\or Prevx1 together. I personally wouldn't dump one over the the other any time soon. :)

    dja2k
     
  22. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    :eek: Damn that is some low memory usage there. I have oasrv.exe running at 32,276 K and pxagent.exe at 33,012 K. Don't mind really, I have lots of memory to spare.

    dja2k
     
  23. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    In my case oasrv.exe uses 6488. pxagent.exe uses 35062 (I have since uninstalled it.)

    FYI, System Safety Monitor (syssafe.exe) 10468 RAM, 10756 VM. I run oasrv.exe & syssafe.exe on 2 different images - not together.

    I use the *plain* version of OA (OnlineArmor), not the AV+ version. I would expect that the AV+ version uses somewhat greater memory than what I have indicated here.

    Another potential impact on OA's usage of memory is the fact that OA is extremely modular, so you can pick & choose as to which modules you wish to use. I use ALL the modules except the AV.

    OA's modules include application/process guard (community-based); keylogger guard; web surfing guard; special-added protection for accessing user-specified websites such as bank accounts, stock accounts, etc; mail filter; anti-spam filter; cookie cutter; HOSTS file protection; untrusted websites special controls (see NOTE below); Firewall (available free in the near future); fully integrated Kaspersky Anti-Virus (available now at additional cost).

    NOTE- Untrusted Sites: Sites that are dangerous, but you may want to visit anyway, can be marked as untrusted. If you then choose to visit such sites, OA performs extensive validations such that potentially dangerous content is automatically removed.

    By the way, Stem (one of the FW experts who posts frequently here at Wilders) is one of the main beta testers of OA's firewall. OA's process guard & surfing guard have used white/black-lists for a long time now. Some aspects of OA's soon-coming free firewall also are white/black-list based. I will use just one aspect of OA's firewall (OAFW) in order to illustrate my understanding as to GENERALLY how white/black-lists function within OA's various modules. . .

     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2006
  24. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Thanks bellgamin, but I hope you mentioned all that for the rest of the posters as I am a beta tester for all Online Armor versions as well. I am an active tester for the firewall at the moment and I am aware of all the potentials that all Online Armor versions have. :D

    dja2k
     
  25. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i have already explained in the past that I am unhappy with the f-secure resource usage and want to try fsis2007 and see if its any better and if it is how much better and lighter. if not i will get antivir suite and either prevx1 or online Armour. i still like kav but im worried it could dont a bad update again. or have they implemented something so it doesnt do that anymore?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.