Online Armor with Sandboxie combo

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by arran, Jun 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    I'm trying out Online Armor Premium, but I can't load any programs in Sandboxie
    even with Online Armor being in learning mode, the only way to load programs in sandboxie is to disable Online Armor's HIPS feature. any one else having same problem? Is there a conflict between the 2?
     
  2. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    I've been running them together for years without issue. (XP Pro SP3)

    In the "Sandboxie Control" display, click on the "Configure" tab and then "Software Compatibility". Make sure you select "Online Armor".

    Also, in the "Programs" menu within OA, make sure that all the "Sandboxie" entries are "trusted" and "allowed". (Set the OA "Programs" tab to "All" when you search for the Sandboxie entries.)

    If Malware Defender is a HIPS, make sure you are only running one HIPS as you may have conflicts otherwise.

    Let us know if that helps.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011
  3. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    exclude them to each other allowing them freelly;)
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    I have had similar issues with OA x64 and sandboxie and with spyshelter (both were manually trusted on OA), at the end I came back to Comodo IS, now everything works.
    Anyway I notice a little slowdown with OA also the menus are slower.
     
  5. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    You shouldn't need to exclude them from each other. In fact that would be counterproductive imho.
     
  6. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Are there any other security software installed? one that use many hook.

    My previous setup on win 7 64bit : EAM 5.1 +OA 5.0 +SS 5.20 beta +Sbie 3.55 beta
    They all work just fine together.

    Just do what Blues7 said,
    but it should have been done automatically, since OA trusted Sbie by default, and Sbie put OA on compatible program automatically too. Unless you manually override them.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    OA and SBIE run together fine for me too, arran.
    Blues7 has given you primo advice.
    I'm guessing that when you review your OA program settings for SBIE, you will find a blocked status instead of an allowed status.
    Good luck! :)
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Same here. All SBIE stuff trusted in OA, and The OA compatibility stuff in SBIE on.
     
  9. Baserk

    Baserk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    1,317
    Location:
    AmstelodamUM
    No conflicts between OA Free&Premium and SBIE 3.52/3.54.
    Neither on XPSP3-32 or VistaSP2-32.

    Like Peter2150^ wrote; SBIE processes are 'Trusted' in OA and OA is marked for 'Compatibility' in SBIE.
     
  10. arran

    arran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,139
    Thanks for the replies guys. I have resolved the issue now. Malware Defender is uninstalled. I believe it was a conflict issue with an older version of sandboxie, after upgrading to to the latest version of sandboxie the issue has been resolved.
     
  11. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    Glad it worked out. They're an awesome one-two punch. :thumb:
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    OA rocks;) i will use it in my win7 64;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.