Online Armor Win7 Public Beta 32-Bit released!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Technic, Oct 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Technic

    Technic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    428
  2. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
  3. maniac2003

    maniac2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I still can't believe that they haven't got a 64-bit compatible product or did I miss a thing ?
    I'd like to give OA a go but all my systems are fitted with a 64-bit OS (Vista and 7).
     
  4. mhob

    mhob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    I can't believe it either. I'm not ever installing a 32-bit on any of my computers again. 32bit O/S doesn't support enough memory for my needs. Other companies had 64-bit out for a long time. How hard is it to create universal binaries that will run on both 32/64bit? A delay like this makes it look like their programming skills are lacking. Like they don't know how to create the firewall driver for 64bit.
     
  5. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Where is the Change Log!?
     
  6. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    64bit has patchguard. Different approaches are required.

    What it comes down to is this: Give me the same financial resources as Kaspersky Lab and I'll really show you what we can do. Until then, I have to make decisions based on commercial priorities as I see them.

    I've written about this before, but to summarise:

    Vista - slow uptake, a flop for MS - and as a result, we did not rush to support it.

    Win7 - Looks like it will be a winner. We have 32bit support; We're working now on x64 support and hope to have it ready early next year.
     
  7. maniac2003

    maniac2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for explaining Mike.
    I got 2 systems running with Windows 7 64-bit now and indeed it is a step up from Vista.

    P.S. Your conversation with Mr Robert Dutu made me laugh yesterday :D
     
  8. Keyboard_Commando

    Keyboard_Commando Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    690
    Clean installed this + Win 7 on my laptop and so far good.

    Going well, so far, seeing I've put it through the mixer with at least 50 reboots installing everything from scratch ... which is quite annoying.
     
  9. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Online Armour isn't the only product having problems with the Patchguard feature in 64 bit Win 7 so a little patience and understanding is certainly in order.
     
  10. taytong888

    taytong888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    138
    I tried Online Armor Free version 3.5 on Win7 Home Premium 32-bit and it messed up the interactive login. All I saw was a black screen with a white arrow after the Welcome screen. I had to do a repair install of Win 7.
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Why would you be surprised at that. 3.5 doesn't support Win 7.
     
  12. tonyf1971

    tonyf1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    58
    Good to know that 64bit support is on the way :)
     
  13. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It should have given you a "Not Supported" message.
     
  14. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    that would be wonderful! ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.