Online Armor Beta V6

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by KelvinW4, Sep 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Release Notes:

    Emsisoft Online Armor 6.0.0.1712 Beta (with Beta updates enabled):

    • Added Windows 8 support.
    • Removed the time consuming safety check wizard after installation. Checks are now done in realtime.
    • Improved installation time.
    • Reduced the number of unneeded alerts when third party software is updated.
    • Improved Chrome & Sandboxie compatibility.
    • Several minor bugfixes.
    • Added Polish translation.

    Looks promising but not much has changed :cool:
     
  2. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Finally :) :thumb:
     
  3. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Ah those are awesome changes for me.:D
     
  4. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,067
    Well the first one is one time thing
    the second one it's just peanuts, less popups yeah.. how many?
    the third one... is the only FW+HIPS with that problem, it's just a bug.

    Seems like a maintenance update
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Wonder if firefox and sandboxie compatibility has been fixed?
     
  6. andrewf

    andrewf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    1) This "one-time thing" was taking up to several hours on some systems.
    2) Decreased by the amount of files replaced (and detected) during boot.

    If you have any issues - please feel free to ask at support.emsisoft.com

    Best regards,
    Andrey.
     
  7. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    Couldn't agree more. I'm assuming the version number change is justified by Windows 8 support because there is nothing else here you wouldn't expect from a run of the mill bug fix patch.

    Any comment on the plans discussed when version 5 was released to make version 6 native 64 bit and when we might see proper screen-capture protection on 64 bit machines?

    Thanks
     
  8. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,499
    Location:
    Germany
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Merged Threads.
     
  10. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    this is good.
     
  11. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    I would like to know the same as well..... We were informed that V.6 was a native 64-bit system. Can this be confirmed?
     
  12. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I wonder if they fixed banking mode as it was broke last i used it.
     
  13. andrewf

    andrewf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    The issue was addressed with this build.

    I would appreciate if you can reproduce it with this build and send me a pm or email to oasupport (at) emsisoft (dot) com.

    (I'm not checking this forum frequently)

    Thank in advance,

    Best regards,
    Andrey.
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    i am running OA Beta here with sandboxie with no problems:thumb: 64 bit and 32 bit systems,no issues or slow down:thumb:
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Ok great! thank you.
     
  16. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Jmonge no slowdown? Really? Thats the only reason why I don't wanna use this software
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    fast fast fast;)
     
  18. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    As I said those are important changes for me even for a maintenance update.;)

    The first one is one time thing, only multiplied several times for me. I change my setups in my pcs from time to time. And every time I would install OA it would take the gruesomely slow wizard checking.

    When installing third party apps OA goes nuts. Less popups would be nice as I'm constantly testing new apps or changing current apps.

    Third one is surely just a bug. A bug for which I'm not using my favorite sbie with oa in my win7 x64 pc. And not me but many of the Wilders here are not leaving OA just to use sbie alone. Now OA can be used smoothly with sbie and for some other users with chrome as well.
     
  19. chris1341

    chris1341 Guest

    If only for me. Still an age for FF to start and Foxit Reader and Microsoft Publisher crash if sandboxed. Internet connection still dropping periodically too. All on 64 bit.

    No issues with Comodo, PFW or Outpost and the same apps. In terms of disc read/writes and CPU utilisation they are much lighter than OA as well.

    Looks like they haven't even attempted to address the lack of screen capture protection on 64 bit with this one. All of the HIPS noted above are now much better on this front than OA, even KIS 2013 HIPS nails this area. I know they have said it can't be done on 64 bit but others are managing it so..................

    I was such a fan of this product at one time so I keep coming back in the hope it has improved on 64 bit. Not yet is my verdict with this beta. Here's hoping the beta cycle addresses these issues.
     
  20. billy13

    billy13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    45
    Good news.............!!!*puppy*
     
  21. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    I get the same old stuff. OA will suddenly slow my system down to a crawl for extended periods. I have already excluded all possible stuff that could even remotely conflict in both OA and Panda Cloud 2. Uninstalled and going back to PF.
     
  22. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Has the compatibility with sandboxie and firefox been fixed in this version.?
    That is the ONLY reason im not using online armor at the moment.:thumb:
     
  23. andrewf

    andrewf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    Hello,

    Could you please post a support request at support.emsisoft.com including the information requested in appropriate section?

    Can't find any post about compatibility problems about OA+SBIE+FF.

    Thanks in advance,
     
  24. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Thats odd.!
    I was experiencing problems with my browsing and i posted in this very forum about the issue and was told it is a common issue and the emsisoft forum was aware of this.!:blink: .
     
  25. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    New OA works fine and smoothly (XP SP3)...no issue with internet and browser like Firefox, no slowdown system and system boot. Installation and first configuration was silent and simplier and as always RunSafer which works great :) Of course Polish translation that is very important for user in our country.
    Well done :thumb:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. IvoShoen
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    1,305
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.