Online Armor + ASquared

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by starflame, Jul 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starflame

    starflame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    If I install Online Armor Premium + A-Squared, do I need to install DefenceWall too? The reason I ask is because I have all these programs and I just wonder which is necessary to install.

    Thanks
     
  2. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Are you talking about Online Armor ++ which uses the A Squared and Ikarus engine or A Squared version 4? In either case Defensewall would make a terrific addition. I am looking at adding it myself.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    you don't need to but install it just to see if you like them all together as you might do
     
  4. starflame

    starflame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Its the standalone versions, it was cheaper to buy them like that.
     
  5. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant
    I guess it would depend on who you ask. I have seen it written that you may experience conflicts by running two HIPS together. I am running both OA++ and DefenseWall together without any noticeable issues and I have not heard anyone else complain about the pair running on their machines. They are both great products with excellent support. If you have them both then give it a spin and see if it works for you.:)
     
  6. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Although DefenseWall is an excellent product, IMHO you don't need it when you have OA because you can use OA's RunSafer feature, which alredy provides a similar level of protection.
     
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    True, too true...I had forgotten about that. I'll just stick with my current setup...:eek: :D
     
  8. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    You have a valid point but I'd rather have more of a layered approach.
    Since OA+ or OA++ run so well with DW, I am keeping both.
    I just don't like putting all my eggs in one basket. :)
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    Its not recommended to use two HIPS - they might block each other.
    If you want to keep your paranoia - keep both - but dont whine if your system blows.
     
  10. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Thanks for your opinion.

    However, I would not call using OA+ and DW as paranoia.
    I'd also say the chances of a system blowing out are zero.

    Here's a link to a thread at Wilders where this issue was discussed.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=239850&highlight=defensewall
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    Well - in most optinions same i would say.
    My first steps with DW were awfull and a mess.
    And somehow buggy - cant describe it other way.
    I tried DW on my other computer (smaller one) beside NOD32 v2.7
    and it really slows down. I had Malwarebytes parallel to NOD (w/o DW)
    and that makes it a bit more slowly than NOD+DW <narf>
    So i dropped both.

    my latest steps with some other firewall was from yesterday to today
    with Look'n'Stop - jeez what crap. I guess its not my favorite in configuration
    so i didnt make it work to let pass some temporary setup.

    OA was used here except the latest beta+final - im on Outpost 3.51 back
    for a while as i need an firewall. I recommend HIPS theses days, but it can be
    a pain in the ass with its rules. So for me its always a journey between some
    less and modern security and the comfort from Outpost (dont like the newer ones).

    One last to mention - if one HIPS cant help - two wont do more.
    Its part of the machine which secures your computer.
    Secure/restricted accounts, AV-Engine, secure Browser, Firewall, Hips, Sandbox(ie).
    User need a good mix of all (not all is needed).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.