Online Armor + ASquared

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by starflame, Jul 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starflame

    starflame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    If I install Online Armor Premium + A-Squared, do I need to install DefenceWall too? The reason I ask is because I have all these programs and I just wonder which is necessary to install.

    Thanks
     
  2. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Are you talking about Online Armor ++ which uses the A Squared and Ikarus engine or A Squared version 4? In either case Defensewall would make a terrific addition. I am looking at adding it myself.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    you don't need to but install it just to see if you like them all together as you might do
     
  4. starflame

    starflame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Its the standalone versions, it was cheaper to buy them like that.
     
  5. darthsideous666

    darthsideous666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    202
    Location:
    Secret Hideout on Coruscant
    I guess it would depend on who you ask. I have seen it written that you may experience conflicts by running two HIPS together. I am running both OA++ and DefenseWall together without any noticeable issues and I have not heard anyone else complain about the pair running on their machines. They are both great products with excellent support. If you have them both then give it a spin and see if it works for you.:)
     
  6. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Although DefenseWall is an excellent product, IMHO you don't need it when you have OA because you can use OA's RunSafer feature, which alredy provides a similar level of protection.
     
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    True, too true...I had forgotten about that. I'll just stick with my current setup...:eek: :D
     
  8. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    You have a valid point but I'd rather have more of a layered approach.
    Since OA+ or OA++ run so well with DW, I am keeping both.
    I just don't like putting all my eggs in one basket. :)
     
  9. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,588
    Its not recommended to use two HIPS - they might block each other.
    If you want to keep your paranoia - keep both - but dont whine if your system blows.
     
  10. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Thanks for your opinion.

    However, I would not call using OA+ and DW as paranoia.
    I'd also say the chances of a system blowing out are zero.

    Here's a link to a thread at Wilders where this issue was discussed.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=239850&highlight=defensewall
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,588
    Well - in most optinions same i would say.
    My first steps with DW were awfull and a mess.
    And somehow buggy - cant describe it other way.
    I tried DW on my other computer (smaller one) beside NOD32 v2.7
    and it really slows down. I had Malwarebytes parallel to NOD (w/o DW)
    and that makes it a bit more slowly than NOD+DW <narf>
    So i dropped both.

    my latest steps with some other firewall was from yesterday to today
    with Look'n'Stop - jeez what crap. I guess its not my favorite in configuration
    so i didnt make it work to let pass some temporary setup.

    OA was used here except the latest beta+final - im on Outpost 3.51 back
    for a while as i need an firewall. I recommend HIPS theses days, but it can be
    a pain in the ass with its rules. So for me its always a journey between some
    less and modern security and the comfort from Outpost (dont like the newer ones).

    One last to mention - if one HIPS cant help - two wont do more.
    Its part of the machine which secures your computer.
    Secure/restricted accounts, AV-Engine, secure Browser, Firewall, Hips, Sandbox(ie).
    User need a good mix of all (not all is needed).
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.