Online Armor 4.5 Officially Released ( x64 support!)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by subratam, Aug 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. subratam

    subratam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,310
    Location:
    Issaquah, WA
    Major Changes

    * x64 support!
    * free, premium and ++ editions are now combined in 1 setup file.
    * all languages are now combined in 1 setup file.

    Enjoy and protect yourself! :)
    http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/oa/
     
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Sweet! Thanks for the info. I'm going to wait a few days and wait for responses as to how it's running, but I liked OA when I used it back in the 32-bit days.
     
  3. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Great news. I'll wait for the change log to what's changed for 32bit :)
     
  4. tonyf1971

    tonyf1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    58
    excellent been waiting on, have a two yr sub to OA premium that hasnt been activated yet :)
     
  5. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Hehe, yes, same for me! I have piled 4 or 5 years of non-activated licensing from when those were offered verrry discounted. It will be time soon for some comparaison tests between main fw/hips' x64 contanders, I think... :eek:
     
  6. Barthez

    Barthez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Poland
    There's no changelog yet and .233 didn't make to auto-update, so it's semi-official ;) Anyway, the prompt in this version is a little bit bigger and now includes simple info about file:

    oa233.png

    :argh:
     
  7. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    Well-well, despite my sig I'm waiting for OA free x64 for ages. :D
    Thanks guys, installed and everything looks perfect fine. I dunno how is compared with full CIS 5 RC but for now I like it.
    I'm completely noob in OA so a quick one for now: I need all those 4 OA processes? Until now oasrv.exe is leading in IO ops, otherwise all seems smooth like silk here.

    LE: Aha, Firefox is a keylogger (just typing a quick reply on a forum and OA jumps on me). :eek:

    oa_fx_keylokker.png
     

    Attached Files:

    • oa.png
      oa.png
      File size:
      7.7 KB
      Views:
      13
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  8. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,448
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Working Perfectly ... :D
    No Problems Yet
     
  9. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

    ^^^^^^^ above are my exact thoughts of being able to run OA on a Win 7 x64 PC.
     
  10. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    It's about time!! Gonna install when the need arises, i.e. when Outpost licnese expires...
     
  11. wearetheborg

    wearetheborg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Darn, no love for XP-64 :(
     
  12. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Yes there is, but only tough love available right now.
     
  13. DX2

    DX2 Guest

    Pfff, works good....never had problems with it...
     
  14. PRUHDG

    PRUHDG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    77
    I notice burebista's snapshot of oa processes
    and mines are different:
    oaui.exe*32
    oasrv.exe*32
    oahlp.exe*32
    oacat.exe*32
    I am using OA++ 64bits support, on windows 7 ultimate 64bit,Does OA install in the x86 program files?
     
  15. Woody777

    Woody777 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Posts:
    484
    Works Great. Glad to have my firewall back finally.
     
  16. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,951
    Location:
    USA
    Is anyone having any BSOD's or crashes? I'm a little hesitant to try 64bit right away. I think i will give them time to iron out any possible major bugs. I'm going to keep a close eye on OA's forum. Now that many more people will be using 64bit they will be able to identify possible incompatibility issues with other software. That is if i can wait! I'm dying to install it now since OA is my favorite firewall lol :)
     
  17. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Holy heck! I've been waiting for what seems like ages for this thing. I'm scared to try it yet though, I'll hang out a day and let the vets play with it.
     
  18. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    So far so good, no issues to report running OA Premium. Running just as smooth as when I was using OA on Win Xp Pro
     
  19. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
  20. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    189
    Hmm the processes are *32 ..

    Should be fine though since they claims it supports X64..
     
  21. Fabian Wosar

    Fabian Wosar Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    787
    Location:
    Germany
    XP-64 doesn't support the necessary functionality we are using.


    Yes, Online Armor installs into the 32bit Program Files folder. Your processes look about right as well. So unless some functionality is not working for you everything looks ok.

    Since now no blue screens were reported. The only blue screen we had was during alpha testing and was technically caused by some NVIDIA driver. But we worked around that issue. There are some minor issues though: Translation mistakes or missing translations, the trial only works for 24 days instead of 30 days and so on.

    The free version supports Windows 7 x64 just fine. The page just haven't been updated yet. A look at the download page reveals it though:

    http://www.online-armor.com/downloads.php


    The processes are still 32 bit processes - correct. Only the used drivers and a few helper processes are 64bit.
     
  22. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Sweet! Thank you for confirming :)
     
  23. burebista

    burebista Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    208
    Location:
    Romania
    Sorry, the column with Image type was last and not captured in SS. Mine are x32 too.
    Here on Seven x64 Ultimate everything looks perfect fine. No BSOD/crashes/slowdowns looks smooth like silk.
    But I saw in their forums two guys with OA stuck in "Exploring Start Menu" .
     

    Attached Files:

  24. eugene91

    eugene91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    189
    @Fabian Wosar
    Thanks for the info.
     
  25. mhl6493

    mhl6493 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Any idea when Vista 64-bit might be available?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.