Online Armor 2 - Public Preview release

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by MikeNash, Mar 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Everyone,

    There's a publically downloadable version of Online Armor v2 and Online Armor AV+ v2 (both with builtin firewall) over at our site for those that might like a play. My post and download links are Here!

    Existing licenced users of Online Armor can install it no problem. If you don't have an OA licence, you can download a 30 day trial version.

    There are some limitations and bugs to be fixed, but we anticipate that public release is now pretty close.

    Thanks in particular to our beta testers who have been patient, helpful and supportive as we've tested and enhanced Online Armor over the last year.


    Cheers


    Mike
     
  2. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Thanks Mike, i cant wait to have a look at it. I am at work so i have to give it a go tomorrow. Keep up the good work.:)
     
  3. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    if i am not wrong they also use kaspersky's av...
     
  4. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    In the AV+ version, yes thats exactly correct.
     
  5. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    I am really intrested to know how good the firewall is?
     
  6. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Detailed Firewall info is available here, and current leaktest performance is available here

    There's still some more work to do but overall I am pleased enough with the results to give this public preview. Many of our beta test team have been using it for months now.
     
  7. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Thanks Mike for the information. Looks good.
     
  8. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Had problems installing OA v2; after removing cyberhawk it worked.

    First impressions are very postitieve: easy to use and intuitive program. :cool:
     
  9. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Will KIS/KAV Users ever be able to install/use OA v2?:rolleyes:
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,043
    Absolutely, there is just a conflict to be worked out.
     
  11. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Cool. I will be interested to investigate the non Firewall & AV features. Hope it won't be long.:D
     
  12. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    Would I have to remove or disable any of my security set up to try out the new OA2 ?
     
  13. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Online Armor will overlap with LnS, Win Patrol, Snoopfree and Process Guard.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,284
    Location:
    England
    I have been lucky enough to be one of the testers and have no conflict at all using OA+plus firewall with SASfree, avira and avg antispy. Also I run opera with no problems.

    The firewall, I have found easy to use (just what I need!)
     
  15. simmikie

    simmikie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    i also have been fortunate enough to test OA+FW in it's various ver2 beta builds.

    Online Armour has worked well on my system with:
    1) Dynamic Security Agent latest version
    2) Safe'n'Sec latest SNS FW disabled
    3) Cyberhawk latest version
    4)SSM paid & free latest
    5) Prevx1 currently using--network detection disabled as this does conflict on my system with OA

    ancillary softs:
    6) Sandboxie current beta
    7) Bufferzone 2.1 (i believe--not currently using)
    :cool: ShadowUSER latest ver.
    9) Rollback RX
    10) forgot....Regdefend free
    11) Wormguard

    it has been my experience that OA is a very laidback app, willing to play well with most anything i have thrown at it, while providing strong (and easy to understand) protection. i recently threw it up against some drive-by malicous code sites, and this beta app worked it's heart out protecting my system. it finally locked my browser up....but it is in beta and Prevx1 which was my intended test software slept through most of the events (seperate test). support has been unparralleled through Tall Emu led by Mike Nash.

    in my estimation, worth a download and a thorough going over, i doubt you will be disappointed.


    Mike
     
  16. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I think our beta test team have had all of these programs running alonside OA at one point or another, with the exception of LnS... you can eaisly remove OA in safe mode if there is a super serious conflict.
     
  17. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041

    NOD , PREVX , SSM , pg, appdefend , regdefend, Regrun, Defensewall can all coexist in my experience

    You won't need all of them at the same time of course ....
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,043
    You would want to remove any other firewall, but the OA firewall status screen is a thing of beauty. I have run with Prevx,SSM, and up until the last couple of builds KAV. I know Mike will beat that one.

    On the KAV thing, as an aside, if you have KAV, it might be interesting for you to try it, as long as you are comfortable with going into Safe mode for an uninstall. It isn't crashing me, but as part of the log on the conflict hits and initiates a shutdown.

    Pete
     
  19. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Thanks for public preview. I used beta couple of months ago but I have always license problem (I reinstall windows too often). Everything works fine and Online Armor AV+ is maybe the first program which I buy (before this I use freeware only).

    EDIT: Is v2 price same than v1 (1x License $69.95)?

    -MikeNAS
     
  20. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    yes, its the same price in both cases - not only that, but if you also own v1 it is a free upgrade
     
  21. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Congrats on the inclusion of the firewall in this version, Mike, and for also implementing OA to now operate at the kernel level. I know that this has been in the works for while and is a long time coming, but I'm following with interest to see how others receive it and what all they have to say about it.

    Good job on all your hard work and continued success with OA :thumb:
     
  22. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    could be the perfect adition to nod32 on the pc im building soon.
    no32 student license for AV and then use online armour for HIPS and firewall
    and superantispyware for antispyware
    lodore
     
  23. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    First time i tried to install OA v2 i got blue screen...no harm done. But now i have installed it. It is working fine, great program. I really like the fact that you can decide to uninstall firewall. I havent tried the firewall yet, i will wait for the final release. OA v2 seems to be much lighter and faster than version 1...well atleast on my computer.
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,043
    Give the firewall a try. I think you will really like it.

    Pete
     
  25. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi all,

    I think so and i really like it (used nearly all the most famous FW)

    You can find more informations here

    Regards,

    MaB
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.