On-demand virus scanners

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Espresso, Mar 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    I'm looking for a list of AV products, (free or paid) that can be run as an on-demand context menu scanner only with no running programs and preferably no drivers either. Avira can work in that way. Avast 4 did but Avast 5 needs to have the main UI running in the taskbar. I have an old Kaspersky 4.5 that does too (the last version to do so) but it can take a long time to start the scan.

    Does anyone know of others that fit the bill?
     
  2. Persian Boy

    Persian Boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Posts:
    44
    A2 Free use Ikarus engine(signatures), that means if u install A2 free u have A2+Ikarus AV(on-demand) + right click scan.

    Nod32 2.7 can do the job too!
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,751
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2010
  4. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    I have A2 but it requires the service running. At least it's hidden.


    No, I'm looking for scanners that can be run on individual files from the Explorer context menu.
     
  5. 0strodamus

    0strodamus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    United Surveillance States
    You can use Windows local security policy software restrictions to stop the launch of the a2 service. I was doing that for a little while using a2 portable as an on demand scanner. ClamWin will do exactly what you're looking.
     
  6. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    Hitman Pro and malwarebytes can do context menu scans without background services running all the time. Not sure about the driver issue though.
     
  7. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  8. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I remember Bitdefender free version. The processes run in the background all the time. And if you disable the processes whatever is in "quarantine" is allowed to function, at least phone home. That was a few years back and I made a post about it on the BD forum but I don't know if the issue was ever fixed. It never got any response from BD that I am aware.
     
  9. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
  10. 3GUSER

    3GUSER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    812

    I think all of the 3 links are not appropriate (I mean the OP has some conditions) . The last link is to HitMan and DrWeb Cure it . Hitman Pro installs itself and makes some files . Dr Web creates entries in Windows Registry. I am not sure if Hitman installs drives but most likely it does
     
  11. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hey,

    Have you considered running a portable AV as an on-demand scanner?
    I know ClamWin AV has a USB portable version that can be used for on-demand scans running from a USB thumb-drive.

    Hope this helps.

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  12. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Hitman Pro does not scan subfolders when doing context menu scans, from what I've read.
     
  13. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
  14. ratwing

    ratwing Guest

    If you run as administrator,at least in XP,you can disable the service with no ill effects. (maybe a slight slow down in opening.)

    A-Squared free offers quite handy right click context menu scans.

    If you are willing to put up with the interminable update times.
     
  15. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    No, it doesn't.
     
  16. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975
    I just checked and the context menu on-demand scan will not work without the service running. The program opens but nothing happens.
     
  17. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
  18. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    The new BD Free is based on their 2009 engine/product. If I remember correctly it puts files in encrypted archive during quarantine in BD 2009.
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Antivirus/BitDefender-Free-Edition.shtml
     
  19. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975

    I looked at the comparison graphic on this page and it had an X under the row for Vista Compatibility. I should've known it would be compatible, considering Vista has been out for 3.5 years.
     
  20. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Avira works great as a on-demand scanner. On install, don't select the guard.
    Ice
     
  21. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    I think you are choosing AVs that have "Custom installation", which can not to install the guard or monitor.

    Nowadays, most of the AVs need services or processes for updating or loading their engines, so most of them can not meet your requirements(with context menu but no running programs).

    What i know that can meet your requirements may be Dr.Web and Hitman Pro.

    Hope this helps,
    andylau
     
  22. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Looks like they have not updated that page (maybe on purpose :cautious: ).

    Guess Scott Adams was right about marketing.:D
     
  23. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    if this is what you want, i certainly wouldn't choose any software that has real-time, im not a believer of 'turning off features'.

    so, the choices would be the most obvious ones.

    SuperAntiSpyware
    MalwareBytes
    Drweb Cureit
    HitMan Pro

    best thing is, all free. (although you will need to purchase a license for Hitman should you wish to remove any infections it may find after the 30days 'removal license' it gives you, although this is 30days i think from your first removal, not from when you install it)

    so, good selection for you.
     
  24. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    975

    I need right-click scan so Cureit is offf the list (although I do have it and used it to clean up an infection I had a few months ago. Dr Web does excel at repairing files). Hitman doesn't handle subfolders and I don't care for the cloud method for a context menu scanner or the way it deals with results. SAS I already have but it's detection rate is pretty weak. MBAM , from what I hear, is weak at detections as well, although it's supposedly good at cleaning up infections.
     
  25. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Please understand that MBAM is not an antivirus. It excels in removing trojans, rootkits, scareware, and other general malware that is currently in circulation.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.