On-Demand Detection against old malwares

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by sg09, Jul 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  2. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    Could you test MSE and avast free please. When are we going to see the results?:D
    Can you please tell us what kind of samples are you using?There must be thousands ,do you pick them at random or only the real nasty ones or o_O?

    And how old? (just two years old or more?). It would be nice if you could add some samples up to four years .Thank you..cool job:thumb:
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Thanks brainb1, actually I am noob in getting malware samples. I got this collection from a source. It is ~2 years old samples, 2007-2008. And yes the samples are mostly nasty ones. Set 1 contains mainly trojan but the second set is more versatile contains worm, backdoor, exe infector virus etc.
    MSE and Avast will come soon. I am also testing less popular ones. So, its taking times.
     
  4. brainrb1

    brainrb1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Posts:
    474
  5. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Lolz, I am doing this test just for fun.;) And you can find a comment in that thread which fully explains the significance of this test.
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Outer space
    Can you also test Panda Cloud AV, Prevx, Nod32 and Hitman Pro?
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    was the problem with hitman pro the scaner or what happend thanks;)
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Don't know what the problem is. It wasn't uploading malwares to the cloud. Detecting by heuristics only. Also by right click scan on the folder didn't scan anything.
     
  10. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,031
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Perhaps I can assist in helping to sort out the problem? Please PM me.
     
  11. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    PM sent..:D
     
  12. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    The Cleaner and trend Micro Test added.
     
  13. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    @sg09

    Malwarebytes policy on including malware sample detections:
    If it is detected by a majority of the AV companies, we do not include the detection in our product.
    We specialize in detecting and removing what others do not.

    I do not speak for Malewarebytes. This is what nosirrah, a Malwarebytes researcher has told me.
    I am not sure about SAS malware inclusion policy.
     
  14. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Hi, my test isn't meant for any conclusion. I know the reason. I was just testing all to make the test complete.
     
  15. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Guys after talking with erik I was able to complete the scan. But the detection was not good.
    Set 1: 471/500
    Set2: 2079/5000

    After seeing the nature of malwares he found that those are NE files, 16 bit, script and html which HMP cannot scan right now. But he will soon release a new version that can scan this type of files...:)
     
  16. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks for testing hitman pro and good to hear about the scaner improvement;)
     
  17. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    You are welcome jmonge..:D

    Sophos added. I am ending my test for now. I will test again soon.
     
  18. Sadeghi85

    Sadeghi85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    747
    What was the problem?
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    so sophos is the champ?thanks
     
  20. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Actually with HMP you can't scan a subdirectory and that was here in my case.
    @jmonge: Sophos, no until now Emsisoft is the winner but please don't conclude anything from the results.
     
  21. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    asquare is good man;)
     
  22. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Please test Kaspersky Virus Removal Tool and Norton Security Scan!:thumb:
     
  23. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    Are these your samples? Massive improvement from Avira.

    Norman decreased its detection on the 5000 samples.
     
  24. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @malexous: I didn't know about this test and not sure if the samples are the same. But 500 & 5000 samples, what a coincident:D.
    @alexC: I have tested Kaspersky Virus removal Tool. Norton is yet to be tested. I think I will test NIS.
     
  25. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
    A part from Avira and Norman, the other products in both tests have a slight increase in detection during your testing. Looks like the same samples.

    Anyway, thanks for conducting the tests and posting the results.

    Edit: I would like to see Ad-Aware FREE tested.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2010
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.