OK...Who is it that warned me about Spyware Doctor?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ejr, Feb 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ejr

ejr Registered Member

For the past couple months I have been an advocate of Spyware Doctor by PC Tools. But at least one or two people in this forum warned me that this program gives nothing but false positives. Now, as good as I think their detection engine is, I must now agree that this program detects way too many false positives. Whoever I was arguing with, I apologize. You were right.

And if you didn't follow this in the NOD 32 forum, one of the reasons I now must admit defeat is because I am experiencing my 2nd false positive in 2 months. This time Spyware Doctor labelled the enitre ESET Folder and all of it's contents as BACDOOR.AGENT.AIR. All in all SD quarantined 162 files, 12 of which I cannot get it to remove from quarantine.

I have not heard from PC Tools of yet, but I half think that PC Tools did this deliberately to get ESETS attention. Just 2 days ago, NOD 32 detected Spyware Doctors beta V5.0 as malware. I find is a very strange coincedence that 2 days later, Spyware Doctor is now detecting NOD32 as malware. NOTE: I did hear from a representaitve of ESET that does not think that this was deliberate. Even if it wasn't deliberate, 2 False Positives in 2 months is WAY too much.

In any case, I am done with PC Tools Spyware Doctor. As soon as this issue is resolved I am removing it from my PC and going with Spyware terminator coupled with Sandboxie.

So fo those of you that warned me about Spyware Doctor, I am sorry that Zi didn't listen. Thanks for your good advice though I didn't heed it.

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

well it seems that spyware doctor is out of your aresonal then.
    btw where you one of the people that usec to use spysweeper with all the shields and complained about the shields causing a slow startup?