OK time to decide: need advice, new to ATI

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Longboard, Mar 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I want to keep images for backup/safety.

    I want to keep one on HD partition ( have C and F drives. F is "stuff" C has os and apps.)

    Can I image whole disc and keep it (the image) on the F drive ?
    Or can I just keep C image on F?

    I want to keep image on external USB Drive.
    CAn I do baremetal restore from USB drive.?
    Do I have to create boot disc/CD to use ATI in event of HD catastrophy?
    CAn I restore if software nightmare and system loss if Hardware still OK?

    I want to use RollbackRx as day to day instant recovery, Is this compatible with ATI.?

    Can I view files and do single file restore from stored image?

    Lots of I wants!!

    There are several long threads about rollback going, with some useful stuff.
    I have come to the source as I want ATI as image back up.

    Comments please.
    Thanks
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    I'll take a stab at this .....

    You should create the bootable Rescue CD.
    Yes, you can restore to a new drive from an image on the external drive ... ... you will need that Rescue CD.
    Where you keep the Image is entirely up to you.
    Not sure what you mean by ... if software nightmare and system loss ....
    I don't know about the RollbackRx.
    Yes, you're supposed to be able to Restore a single file from an image.
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thankyou for the stabbing:D

    I'll digest your reply and see if I cant express myself a little better.

    There is alot to learn from these forums!

    Will my "Lacie" (toshiba 40g drive) Usb work with ATI for storing images?
    Will I be able to reboot and accessthe image for recovery?

    How much space does an Image take?
    To create a disc copy/Clone of my setup, how much space will be needed?

    Single HD:
    C: 74G with 50 free OS and apps
    F: 158G with 158 free (only has some small files)

    As to Baremetal recovery?
    Say I have Clone on extra drive and primary drive fails can I install clone on any drive ie hardware issues for different manufacturers etc or do I just make the disc with the clone the new primary drive?
     
  4. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    So are you saying that 'F' is a partition on the same drive as 'C'?

    You can do either. Image the whole disk on 'F' or just 'C' on 'F' or 'F' on 'F' pretty much howerver you want to do it.

    As far as I know yes. Someone else feel free to jump in here as I have not yet tried it.
    Yes.

    I assume you mean if you can't boot to Windows. Yes you can restore using either Acronis which boots before windows if you have chose to install this option or use Acronis boot disk.

    I use them both as you already know :) I won't say they are the best of friends but it can be done as per other thread https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=713435&postcount=57

    Yes you can do this easily with TI.

    I hope you didn't mind my comments.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Chris :Thanks again

    Inch By Inch ;)
    LBD
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Apologise for terminalogical inexacitude in my posts.

    LOL:
    Need a new language: How to decipher new users real meanings!!

    It's in the sig;
     
  7. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Any Takers?
     
  8. Chris12923

    Chris12923 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    1,097
    Sorry I missed this last time. I would think that you would need around 15-20 gigs to back up your 24 gigs. It depends on the compression used and if I'm not mistaken also the files being compressed.

    Thanks,

    Chris
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.