OFFICIAL RELEASE - Prevx 3.0.5.85 with SafeOnline

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Triple Helix, Feb 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Re: Prevx 3.0.5.85 with SafeOnline

    Thanks, Triple Helix, for the fast notifications of new releases :D

    The changelog for builds .80 through .85 is:

    - Fixed an issue protecting user-configured credentials with non-alphanumeric characters
    - Fixed compatibility with "FolderSize for Windows"
    - Fixed an issue creating new folders in the Save dialog on a secured website in IE
    - Improved compatibility with the Windows Security Center
    - Improved compatibility with some other security products
    - Fixed a random issue loading the tray icon on XP

    Please let me know if you have any questions/comments or if any issues still persist. Thanks for the testing!

    Update: This build is now being released officially and should be out for manual download in the next hour or so. Automatic updates to this version will take place in about two days.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2010
  3. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi
    thank you!
    A couple of questions:
    - PREVX SafeOnline 3.0.5.80 "Facebook edition" will autoupdate to ver 3.0.5.85 as well or I'll have to buy a license?
    - Since I also use Windows 7 64 bit, is there a different installer for 64 bit OS's or there are not differences?


    Thank you in advance:)
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It will autoupdate soon as PrevxHelp has said!
    and when you go to the download page http://info.prevx.com/downloadsafeonline.asp it will know which OS bit version you have 32bit or 64bit!

    HTH,

    TH
     
  5. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you so much for your fast and accurate reply Triple Helix.:D

    I have just updated PREVX SafeOnline on my laptop with Win 7 Home premium 64 bit and from time to time Firefox 3.6 hangs.
    I'm not sure if PREVX SafeOnline can be the reason of this FF behaviour.


    Other security softwares installed are:

    ESET NOD32 v 4.0.474.0 (Ita)
    MalwareBytes' AntiMalware pro v 1.44
    PC Tools Firewall Plus 6.0.80
    JavaCool SpywareBlaster 4.2
    Task Catcher 1.4
    Sandboxie 3.44


    [EDIT to say] The issues happens only when downloading files and more than a Tab is opened. It is only caused by the virus scanning feature, I suppose

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm not sure as I use the 32bit version and I don't have this problem :doubt: Did you do a reboot after upgrade? Sometimes that helps! Or wait and Joe will respond to your Issue!

    TH
     
  7. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Manually updated to this build on one machine and waiting for the automatic update on the other. I keep SafeOnline disabled, however. I don't want to run the browser as trusted in GeSWall in order to make SafeOnline functional. I'm glad I have all the other added protection that Prevx has built into the 3.0.5.x versions. ;)
     
  8. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    @ Triple Helix,
    This issue happened to my laptop running Windows 7 home premium 64 bit.
    After rebooting this issue disappeared, and I had no longer problems:)

    On the other hand, all went fine in my desktop PC with Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit, I didn't have to reboot.

    do note please that I'm using only PREVX SafeOnLine which has been given away to facebook users.
    I'm planning to buy the full version (Real Time protection and Removal ability) soon.

    Thank you for your help
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Re: Prevx 3.0.5.85 with SafeOnline

    Auto updated on second machine in the wee hours of the morning, and all appears to be well with 3.0.5.85 on both computers. As I mentioned via email, Joe, the command prompt you gave me did not keep the SafeOnline component from installing, but that doesn't seem to matter at this point. :)
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to here you got it sorted and you will be happy with the full version Toooooo :cool:

    TH
     
  11. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    @Page42: I was wondering what settings you have now with Prevx 3.0.5? Mine is still Max/High/High and working very well!

    TH
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Max/Med/Med, TH.
    I haven't had a heuristic alert for quite a long time.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Same here with my settings! Max/High/High :D

    TH
     
  14. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    High/Med/Med

    basically, 1 notch up on everything compared to default.

    Mainly because i receive alot of grey-ware that I like to test, or new software components to tinker and dont want Prevx getting overly-excited.

    still, i had to knock it up a notch from default, default just didnt seem safe enough with those sliders near the start. *lol*
     
  15. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    I'm loving PrevX now!!!
    Thanks for the CSI FREE.

    I love everything especially SafeOnline, Please allow us to enable 2 or 3 domain protection for FREE. xD

    Also please add FLOCK Browser support on SafeOnline.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  16. PC__Gamer

    PC__Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    526
    Untitled.jpg

    this is the scheduled quick scan, 1hr+?

    also, stuck on 63%, Internet IS WORKING, files scanned also stuck.

    never noticed anything like this before....

    also, cant really re-produce it, if i click quick scan, it scans through perfectly.

    i will have to wait for the next automated one i guess. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Next time if it happens abort the scan and try to save a scan log and send it to them maybe they will see the problem in the log! ;)

    TH
     
  18. hemingway60

    hemingway60 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Posts:
    40
    I'm using the Facebook version with a prevx license. I tried updating but the update always fails. (automatic) So is it ok if I download the new version from the site with out losing SafeOnline license of the facebook version?:rolleyes:
     
  19. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    Just download and install over the top. I have never got check for updates to work either.
     
  20. vojta

    vojta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    I also experienced this a couple of times. It gets stuck at 63%. Then I abort, start a new scan, and everything goes fine again.
     
  21. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This could be an aberration in the connection to Prevx, causing it to timeout. 63% is the point at which the scan connects to our database, so it would make sense that it would be a place of potential problems if there is a firewall blocking it or some temporary routing issue in one of the points between your PC and the servers.

    If the problem persists after aborting/restarting, let me know what ISP you use and I'll see if I can find any information on the issue.
     
  22. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    I've noticed a strange behaviour with Chrome 4. In particular, when I insert a new link in the navigation bar (for example wilderssecurity) all it is ok. But when the cursor is on focus and I try to delete a sequence of chars (through BK SP button), google chrome slows down. The deletion is a slow process!!! :'(

    http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/9648/prevxandchrome.jpg

    Any solution?

    Edit: When safe online is deactivated, Chrome works well!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  23. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Any idea? Thank you in advance.
     
  24. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hmm.... not sure what the cause of that would be. Could you try sending us over a scan log to see if there is some attribute of your installation which is causing Prevx to interfere with the address bar?

    Thanks! :)
     
  25. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Dear PrevxHelp, thank you for your reply. I will send you the log file. The behaviour appears when the pc (and so chrome 4) is connected to the internet. On the contrary, when the pc is disconnected or SOL is off, the chrome bar act properly. Before sending the log, could I try to reinstall prevx?

    Thank you again. Regards.

    Edit: Could you remember to me the email address to send the log? Have I to write an explanation of the problem (together with the chrome version)?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.