OFFICIAL RELEASE - Prevx 3.0.5.40 with SafeOnline

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by PrevxHelp, Dec 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    From the first post:
    I believe it looks for PDF Exploits but Joe can confirm!

    TH
     
  2. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Oddly enough, I continue having problems with my setup (win xp home sp2, latest official KIS, MBAM paid [prot. not running]). Same as with the previous version released.


    I tried installing this new version, problems in brief are IE7 failing to load (only opens partially, ie. the window opens w/o address bar or page), MS Outlook 2007 freezing (for example trying to close it result it becoming unresponsive) and even though I had Safeonline enabled it didn't appear in IE or Firefox (which was able to load).

    I promptly removed PrevX3.0 and did a reboot and issues were gone.
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Could you please send a scan log to report@prevxresearch.com? Prevx could indeed be at fault for some of this and a scan log would help to diagnose it.

    Thanks! :)
     
  4. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    If you run either of IE or FF browsers (I use FF) sandboxed there is no Prevx SafeOnline Browser Tab above the address bar so you have no idea if SafeOnline is working but not. You cannot click on it and configure customised settings.
    Perhaps Joe could clarify exactly what the situation is here.

    Joe, if you do answer this can you confirm if Prevx are still planning for Browser Sandboxing/browser exploit prevention in addition to the secure browser (SafeOnline) as mentioned in one of your previous posts before v3.0.5.x saw light of day.
     
  5. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Prevx scans PDFs using a local signature engine, not uploading them to the cloud.

    Let me know if you have any other questions!
     
  6. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hmm :doubt: Prevx shouldn't be integrating with Opera at all on x64 - could you try uninstalling and reinstalling Prevx from http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=prevxsafeonline64 directly?

    Let me know! :)
     
  7. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    SafeOnline will still provide some protection on the browser (and will definitely protect stored credentials) but it does not have full protection over Sandboxie'd browsers because of the changes Sandboxie makes into the browser's memory.

    We will likely be first integrating this into the Prevx 4.0 version of SafeOnline :)
     
  8. Dark Star 72

    Dark Star 72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Posts:
    771
    Thanks for confirming that Joe.
    Will Prevx 4.0 be the next beta?
     
  9. Brent Hutto

    Brent Hutto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Well I'll be darned. I hadn't noticed that in Firefox but sure enough, as I type this there's no Prevx icon on my sandboxed FF window. Oh well. As I said, we don't use Sandboxie except when out on other networks, which isn't often. Thanks.
     
  10. keysersozeuk

    keysersozeuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Anyone else experiencing problems with Windows 7 64bit + Prevx playing any kind of Flash video crashing the browser?
     
  11. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    yes. Known issue. Look my post above. Joe will fix it soon. :)
     
  12. keysersozeuk

    keysersozeuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I didn't see Flash mentioned?
     
  13. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
  14. keysersozeuk

    keysersozeuk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    6
  15. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  16. Habakuck

    Habakuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    544
    Ok ok... :D no matter at all.

    We have a video problem with safeonline.... ;)
     
  17. cybergary

    cybergary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    I had Prevx 3.0.5.28 without SafeOnline. I upgraded my license to include SafeOnline yesterday. So I downloaded and installed (3.0.5.40), but I can't get SafeOnline to work.

    Last night I tried out SafeOnline by installing PREVXSAFEONLINE64.EXE. I then removed it and installed PREVXCSIFREE64.EXE, but since then I can't get SafeOnline to work.

    I've been in contact with Prevx support and they said to uninstall via control panel, reboot, reinstall which I did, but the problem remains.
     
  18. ludo021288

    ludo021288 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    22
    Same issue with the new install. The only différence is that i know gets the nice blue GUI instead of the black "Release Candidate" marked one.
    Below is a screenshot of what i get when I launch Opera.

    And Thanks for bringing SafeOnline to x64 so quickly.


    http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/8476/prevxx64.jpg
     
  19. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,677
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Joe,

    All is running good except for two small problems. The first is that all the sounds for IE8 do not work with Prevx SafeOnline on and second, my RoboForm2Go quits working also. I am on a fully patched Vista Home Premium 64 bit system.
     
  20. lordpake

    lordpake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    563
    Location:
    Helsinki ~ European Union
    Sent email w/log earlier today. Hopefully some clear reason can be found for my issues, at present state PrevX is unusable for me.
     
  21. mrgigabyte

    mrgigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    125

    thank you Triple Helix

    everything went great i got the download and installed everything work great thanks again mrgigabyte :cool:
     
  22. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    502
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Joe,
    That issue with prevx disappearing on user switching has come back. I am guessing thats because when I upgraded, the registry entry fix you gave me was overwritten?
    I have re installed the fix and will see if that changes anything.

    Regards Rollers
     
  23. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    So if Opera is not supported PrevX should exclude it. Now I have to disable SafeOnline completely to keep Opera work. :(

    Win 7 x64
     
  24. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    PA
    What is the recommended SafeOnline setting for HTTP sites? I put it to Maximum, but got Firefox stickiness when scrolling.
     
  25. gmed

    gmed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Brazil
    prevx safeonline icon is desapearing when i use the 'application shortcuts' in google chrome.

    here i have prevx free with MSE and Online Armor Premium. Win7 32bit.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.