OFFICIAL RELEASE - Prevx 3.0.5.106 with SafeOnline

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by PrevxHelp, Mar 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all,
    We're pleased to announce that we've officially released build 3.0.5.106 of Prevx with SafeOnline. It should be released out for update within the next few days to existing users, but users can manually download the upgraded version from:

    http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp or http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=prevxcsi64 if on a 64bit OS.

    The changelog over build 104 is:

    - Fixed an issue in IE6 showing tooltip popups
    - Fixed compatibility with NIS and Opera
    - Added a message when disabling/enabling protection to tell the user to restart their browser
    - Added additional self protection measures
    - Improved "compatibility" with some malicious trojan horses (due to bugs in some trojans, adding SafeOnline on top was causing the browser to crash in some cases)
    - Uninstallation message delay increased

    Please let me know if you find any issues! The current areas that we are working on are:

    - 64bit SafeOnline will not integrate into Chrome or Opera
    - Some users are having issues with Opera and correctly verifying IP addresses/reading the URL from the browser
    - A periodic issue reading pre-existing proxy settings properly
    - An issue showing the tab on Chrome instances opened from a shortcut on Win7
    - An issue uninstalling KeyScrambler with SafeOnline protection active (disable Prevx protection when uninstalling KeyScrambler to prevent any issue from occurring)

    Some items we will be adding in one of the next releases are:
    - Add protection of stored credentials when copied to the clipboard
    - Continue protecting clipboard data from a secured website after the browser is closed
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2010
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. gmed

    gmed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Brazil
    :thumb:
     
  4. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    463
    Location:
    UK
    I can't wait. But I think you mean protection of stored credentials pasted from the clipboard. :D
     
  5. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Nice :)

    I have one "issue" to report, on vista I have 7 icons always visible in the notification area including prevx. Prevx is by default autohide, and apparently I have enough icons to let Vista make it hidden. Well I think, no problem, just change the setting for Prevx to always show. But when Prevx updates to a new build, the setting is reset, so I have to change it to "show" everytime prevx updates.
     
  6. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Well, here's a new one, for me anyway. Under System Status: Protected it shows SO w/a small padlock instead of a green check mark. All sites are config'd, so what's the story on this? :doubt:
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's because you have a supported browser open! It tells you that it is secure and when you close your Browser it will go back to a green check mark! It's been like that ever since SafeOnline has been introduced! ;)

    TH
     
  8. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    Great release like always :thumb:
    But I still have some problems with Chrome integration. When a click or open/go to another tab the prevx pad disappear , but it goes back after some seconds , not a big deal but it is annoying.
     
  9. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    Thank you very much.
    Since I fully registered PREVX 3.0.5.106 RC (with the license code I got thanks to Wilderssecurity contest and your company), can I install the latest stable version over the Release Candidate without loosing my registration data?

    Or simply there are no differences between PREVX 3.0.5.106 RC and PREVX 3.0.5.106 final?

    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit.

    By The way: I do not know why but while in Windows 7 x86 PREVX installed itself in italian (my native language) in Windows 7 x64 PREVX 3.0.5.106 RC installed itself in english.
    Both the OS are in italian.

    Well not a real problem for me.

    Thank you:)
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    Yes you can install over top but there is no difference from the final and the RC it's just the RC will update to a new RC if one is released again and you have Release Candidate in GUI always with the RC version! I personally always keep the RC as I always want the latest RC version if there is one but you can do what ever you want to of course! :thumb:

    Joe will help you out with the Language part! ;)

    HTH,

    TH
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    This could be caused from the update - you may want to uninstall and reinstall fresh from http://info.prevx.com/downloadcsi.asp

    If that doesn't work for you, let me know and I'll take a look! :)
     
  12. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    A response would be nice :p
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Sorry about that - missed the message! I'm not sure what we'd be able to do in that case... I suspect Windows manages it based on the checksum of the program. You may want to contact Microsoft's support to see if there is a way to allow all versions of a program to show in the tray.

    Let me know your results! :)
     
  14. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Well DUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Still learning in my old age, thanks TH. :oops:
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As always your welcome Pat! :D

    TH
     
  16. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Running smooth as Haagen Dazs Vanilla Ice Cream here...:eek: :D
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Send some up here YUM YUM :argh:

    TH
     
  18. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It's in the mail, hopefully it won't all melt...:D
     
  19. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    :D It "might" be better to send around a voucher to buy some ice cream rather than try and send it through the mail... :D
     
  20. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Now that's a great idea...:thumb: :cool:
     
  21. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    I've asked at the MS forums and they said changing prevx.exe's properties to run as administrator might help. I don't know how that could help, but I can't test it until a new version comes out, so maybe you could test it in the lab with an old installer or something?
     
  22. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    That likely will not fix anything, and it could potentially cause Prevx not to load properly on bootup. It may be best to ensure you're on the Official Release upgrade path and then manually configure the tray icon on each release if it continues to become hidden. I'm not sure if Windows has any function to force the icon to be shown, but I believe Windows 7 is quite adamant about keeping things out of the user's face as much as possible, which is why they have the control based on a per-version basis.
     
  23. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Ok, thanks. I've removed the run as admin from Prevx(though it gave me no problems) I'm already on the Official Release path to prevent bugs so I'll just manually configure it, it's not that much effort after all :p
    Btw, I'm using Vista, not 7.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.