Office 2013 Service Pack 1 now available

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Feb 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,757
    Location:
    Texas
    http://blogs.office.com/2014/02/25/office-2013-service-pack-1-now-available/
     
  2. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    Thanks for the heads up ronjor. Still not available in my Win Update. Will have to wait. Good set of fixes.
     
  3. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Just installed it through Windows update.

    Can somebody tell me how to check from within Office if SP1 is installed for Office 2013 or not? The "File>Account" section does not say if SP1 is installed on the computer. Even if you click the "About Word" or "About Outlook" button, it still does not say if SP1 is installed. The only way to check is through "control panel>programs>view installed updates."

    Why this secrecy? And why hide the fact that Office 2013 is now updated to SP1?
     
  4. Defcon

    Defcon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    332
    Found this on the blog -

    "How to tell if you have SP1 installed

    In order to determine if SP1 is installed for Office 2013 or a related product, look for the program version in the list of installed programs in the Programs and Features control panel. If SP1 is installed, the version will be 15.0.4569.1506 or higher. Additionally, if you've installed the SP1 update for an MSI product, SP1 will be listed in Installed Updates in that same control panel."
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Can you say if they've added more "themes" to improve contrast in the UI?
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    No, they didn't, but I didn't expect any.
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I didn't either, but it was worth asking. Ah well, when all else fails lower your expectations :)
     
  9. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, but wouldn't it have been easier to just right the words SP1, instead of this long decimal number! Imagine if you are a systems admin trying to figure out if each computer has been updated to SP1, you will have to compare this ridiculously long decimal number on each computer.

    I don't know what people at MS have been drinking for the last 3-4 years, every decision they have made during this time defies logic and common sense.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I agree with you, a bit of contrast and colour would make the UI more interesting, but as already mentioned no change there, as a matter of fact I can't see any difference.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.