Obscure mirror update issue

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Vimto, Mar 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vimto

    Vimto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    We have NOD32 running on a number of sites now but this is the first one with this issue, I am open to any suggestions.

    ERAS is installed on the main file server (SBS2003) and configured to allow updates via HTTP or file share to the clients. However none of the clients will see the updates via either HTTP or the server share, giving a missing file error.

    Thinking it maybe an error with the server I set up one of the clients (one of the few with internet access) to act as a mirror via file share but again i got exactly the same error with another client pointed to the share. If I open the share in windows explorer all looks fine.

    If I copy the files to the local machine and update from there it works OK.

    The interesting thing is that all of the clients can happily report in to ERAS to say that they arent updating.

    The setup seems to be identical to those I have set up at other sites but I've not had this problem.
     
  2. Vimto

    Vimto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Just an update - ran out of time to locate the problem and eventually went with the third option and set up ISS on the server to distribute the updates, all working fine now.
     
  3. rodelz

    rodelz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    I've experienced the same issue. Had to manually copy files to clients and they started updating properly so haven't had to try the IIS method. Yet. I am going to look into that. Thanks for the update.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Do you have program component update (PCU) mirroring enabled?
     
  5. rodelz

    rodelz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Probably not. I'm not using mirror servers yet but I want to set several up on remote sites.
     
  6. rodelz

    rodelz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    It's enabled.
     
  7. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    What port did you set the HTTP mirror to run at? Default settings will conflict with Sharepoint, which comes bundled with SBS.
     
  8. rodelz

    rodelz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    It was default-port 2221 I think. We don't have sharepoint but I will try using a different port #. Thanks!
     
  9. rodelz

    rodelz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Posts:
    15
    Different port didn't help. Now having other issues as well. Will start a different post. Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.