OA 3.5 [paid version] Web Shield & Avira Premium 9 WebGuard

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Zyrtec, Jun 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hi everyone,

    I've just got a quick question:

    I've been running OA 3.5.0.14 [paid version] alongside with Avira AV Premium 9.0.0.430 on a test PC [Windows Vista Business SP-2, a 3.20GHz P4 [HT], and 2GB RAM]. However, I've noticed when I enable OA Web Shield and Avira WebGuard, any browser I try to open [either Firefox 3.5 or IE 8], freezes and won't load the web page I'm trying to access unless I untick the Web Shield function on OA firewall.

    Has anyone here with these two applications running on his/her computer experienced this? If yes, what kind of work around have you done to make this problem go away?

    In my case, I had to disable Web Shield in OA 3.5 and leave only Avira WebGuard enabled.

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  2. thathagat

    thathagat Guest

    yes
    this is what i did too but i am also using sandboxie 3.38 paid....maybe someone can point to a better tweak for using both avira webguard + Web Shield in OA...
     
  3. jad123

    jad123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    I use both OA 3.5 paid and Avira Premium with both webguard and webshield enabled and hae no issues and did not have to tweak. You may want to try to upgrade to 3.5.0.18 as this version has fixed several network issues.

    http://support.tallemu.com/vbforum/showthread.php?t=8569
     
  4. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I run both myself but don't feel the need to run 2 web guards.
    With Avira's Web Guard I do get a noticeable lull in surfing so I went with OA's Web Shield. No lull at all. :D
     
  5. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,

    To: Jad123; I thought OA [paid] 3.5.0.18 was a BETA version released to address some problems a few bunch of users were experiencing and not meant for general release:

    See here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=243800

    Besides, how have you managed to run both WebGuard and Web Shield and not experience any slowness when browsing the net with, let's say with IE8?


    To: Danny9; What did you do? Did you just uninstall the Avira WebGuard through the Windows Control Panel to use OA's Web Shield instead?
    I ask it because just disabling Avira WebGuard makes the umbrella to close on the Windows Taskbar.
    Then, I realize I might as well run Avira FREE with OA [paid] if I'm not going to use WebGuard and MailGuard in Avira. I don't see the point of running the paid version if I'm going to uninstall and/or disable one or two of the protection components.

    Lastly, I have NOT seen any slowdown in browsing speed with Avira 9 WebGuard enabled.

    Thanks in advance for your answers.

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  6. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Hi, Just go to the control panel and click on add or remove.
    Click on Avira and it gives you the choice to change or remove.
    Click on change and check the box to modify and there you go.
    It will bring up a page with everything you're using as checked. Just uncheck Web Guard, click next and it will uninstall it for you.

    As far as the slowdown in browsing with Avira's Web Guard I think it varies from system to system. Some users say they have never saw it and others say they have.
    Mine was never that bad, just a slight lull which I don't get with OA, so I just decided to use it all with OA.

    Using both web guards together just seemed a bit redundant so I never even tried them together.
    You just have to go with what you think works for you

    Hope this helped a little and good luck! :D
    Dan
     
  7. jad123

    jad123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    3.5.0.14 is the official release but reading through the boards 3.5.0.18 has fixed many odd network issues for people. It may be worth a try.

    I run both WebGuard and WebSheild without any problems on 3 systems. I mainly use Firefox for general browsing. I do not use IE8 so cannot comment about any possible problems there. I had no issues when using IE7. The 2 guards do different things, I asked about the compatability of the two about a month ago.

    http://support.tallemu.com/vbforum/showthread.php?t=8269
     
  8. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am running that combination on Vista Home Premium SP1 with no problems. I have tried disabling both web shields one at a time and noticed no difference in performance so I left them both active.

    Have you posted at OA's forum? The folks there are eager to help!
     
  9. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA
    Hello, ffreedom01

    Nope, I haven't checked at the OA forums yet but I'll follow your suggestion.
    Thanks for bringing it up.

    Well, I don't know how you manage to run IE8 on Windows Vista SP-2 with OA [paid] 3.5.0.14 Web Shield and Avira Premium 9 WebGuard both enabled.

    What I do is to enable the OA's Web Shield and fire up IE8 to open my home page [msn.com] but the browser just stalls trying to open that web page and nothing happens. I have even tried typing in other URLs but no avail.

    However, as soon as I disable OA's Web Shield and fire up IE8 again all the web pages open in a heartbeat [even running Avira WebGuard].

    So, in my configuration, it seems OA Web Shield somehow doesn't work with Avira WebGuard and IE8.

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  10. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hi Zyrtec,

    The only difference as I mentioned is the I am still using SP 1. My laptop is running so well these days I just haven't wanted to mess with SP 2 yet. Maybe that is the key.

    Do you by chance have an image from before SP 2 was installed? If yes, it might be worth a quick restore to see if everything works OK with SP 1 on your setup.
     
  11. lonelywolf

    lonelywolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    I'm running BitDefender antivirus 2008, OA 3.5, Zemana 1.9 (all paid) and Geswall free + AnVir Task manager 5.6 on 1GB of RAM and AMD Sempron 2010 MHz L2 cache 128 KB by about a month now with no negative impact on system performance or some other compatibility issues, just some minor annoyances from time to time, easily resolved.
     
  12. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    I'm running OA Full [paid] 3.5.0.14 Web Shield and avast!. I don't have any conflicts with OA Web Shield and avast! Web Shield, no noticeable slowdown.:cool:

    I switched to OA from ZA Free because OA runs lighter & faster. On my other computer I have OA Free (& avast!), it needs software that's lite as possible. ;)
     
  13. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    I've started 2 days ago to use OA pro(after CIS) with KAV 2010.....not any issues at all,and no slow speed browsing.
     
  14. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.