nutvss.exe?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Patty Deer, Nov 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty Deer

    Patty Deer Guest

    I seem to have a problem with this exe, I can not stop the process and it it taken all of my resources. I have run about everyscan their is and still nothing has gotten rid of it. It seems to have taken over one of my hook.dll files, when I boot up it shows that it is missing.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi Patty Deer,

    I tried a search for the exe you mentioned and came up with nada.....

    If you have already tried "about every scan their is", I would suggest you post a HijackThis log. However I am afraid we no longer allow the posting of unsolicited HijackThis logs as per our Posting Policy stated in this Announcement. You will find a link in the Announcement Post to several other sites that still do provide HijackThis log analysis service.

    You may also click on the ASAP in my signature and it will take you to the ASAP page that lists sites that accept HijackThis log submissions.

    Whichever site you decide to go to, please be sure and follow their posting policy before you post your HijackThis log.
     
  3. Patty Deer

    Patty Deer Guest

    Thanks!
    I will do that.
     
  4. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    You are most welcome!!!

    Let us know how things go ;) .....
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just did an extended search also and could't come up with a thing either.

    bigc
     
  6. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    It is possible that it may be a new baddie and that is why I suggested she go to an ASAP site and submit a HJT log. That way if it is something new, the expert will request a sample of the new bad guy.....
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    In the back of my mind I am thinking that is a norton utilities virusscan command but I could be wrong. but I have seen that somewhere before? I just can't remember where.

    (edit) I just did a search on the symantec site and came up blank, wish I could remember where I saw that before?
     
  8. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    It sounds too simplistic, but how about locating the image path, renaming the file and rebooting? Simple, but can work wonders under the right conditions. If you're not sure of the image path - download SysInternals Process Explorer and under View>Select Columns make sure Image Path is checked.

    Blue
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,451
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Good idea Blue ;) . Then of course if that solves the problem, she can wait and see if any of her programs start crying :'( out for that exe.

    Another thing that would not hurt is to upload that exe to JOTTI's SITE and see if anything is picked up on it there....
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.