NTLDR missing - BAD JOKE? Support?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Priest, Feb 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Priest

    Priest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Good day to one and all,
    So here a new Thread to add to the line.

    First off here's what i am using:
    System Windows XP Pro
    Hardware:
    Asus p5e3
    Intel 6600
    2GB Ram
    300GB HDD Samsung
    Sata DVD
    to secure data I use a 60GB HDD Ext.

    Acronis TI 10 9.492 Downloaded today as a update.

    NOW The problem :mad:

    Upon booting sometime I get following:
    usb.c usb device not accepting new address

    then sometime my HDD is missingo_O

    WHEN I do get everything together it has taken up to 1H 23Mins to restore,
    THEN "NTLDR missing" then a row of bad words roll fast!!!!!

    I tried copying NTLDR & NTDETECT. whatever from the XP CD works fine then
    REBOOT TIME and the next set of words start flighing!@#$%

    MBR done that !
    Bootini did that !

    SUPPORT I was told is here so I hope THIS bad dream ends FAST!
    Cause all i want to do now is :gack:

    WHERE ARE THE PRO's o_O?
     
  2. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Might need some clarification here.

    “Upon booting sometime I get following:
    usb.c usb device not accepting new address
    then sometime my HDD is missing”
    So, all this was happening before you did the restore?

    “WHEN I do get everything together it has taken up to 1H 23Mins to restore”
    So, you got everything working and then restored over it?
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    1. Did you un-install old version before installing build 4942? If no, suggest you un-install and re-install. You may have to perform a manual install as listed on Bodgy's signature.
    2. Did you build a new Rescue CD and have you tried it?

    3. Was it the install which caused your grief, or did your do an restore from a previous version--what version?
    4. If an restore was performed,
    a. was it performed from the Rescue CD?
    b. Was it a partition restore or disk restore? Explain a little more info about the restore--if one was done.
    c. Do you have multiple partitions?
    5. Using a new Rescue CD, have you tried do a full disk restore from a full image backup which included all your partitions. This would put you back to when an earlier version of TI was installed.

    I have been using 4942 for quite some time with no grief performing backup or restores or clones.
     
  4. Priest

    Priest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Answer: I am trying to restore my system with the Original CD, meaning I cannot get to my XP.

    2. Did you build a new Rescue CD and have you tried it?
    Answer: Yes, did that done that, does not work.

    3. Was it the install which caused your grief, or did your do an restore from a previous version--what version?
    Answer: I had problems with IE6 and thought my restore would fix that,
    NOT REALLY. Version is 10 9,492 & I also have a updated Version of 9,492s.

    4. If an restore was performed,
    a. was it performed from the Rescue CD?
    Answer: Yes
    b. Was it a partition restore or disk restore? Explain a little more info about the restore--if one was done.
    Answer: HDD 1st partition is 40GB of 300GB. Partition Restore.
    The Backup Drive is a Maxtor 60GB
    c. Do you have multiple partitions?
    Answer:
    5. Using a new Rescue CD, have you tried do a full disk restore from a full image backup which included all your partitions. This would put you back to when an earlier version of TI was installed.
    Answer: Original CD Version: 10 9,492.

    I have been using 4942 for quite some time with no grief performing backup or restores or clones.[/QUOTE]

    MORE INFO AS FOLLOWS:
    Upon booting Acronis TI Home Fullversion which has the drivers for usb
    my HDD does NOT show up, just "A:, B:=CD, C:= Backup HDD, FTP, Network."

    Booting from (Secure):
    Is the only way to restore.
     
  5. Priest

    Priest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Also then after the restore "NTLDR missing" always apears"

    restore both files does not help (NTLDR & Ntdetect).
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Priest,

    Can you see your HD in the BIOS?
     
  7. Priest

    Priest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Yes, I can.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  9. Priest

    Priest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
  10. Priest

    Priest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Is there noone out there that can help me o_O?
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Priest,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please collect some information to let us investigate the problem thoroughly?

    Please create Acronis Report the way described below (please keep the drive in question connected and powered on during the creation process):

    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  12. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi Priest,

    First off, what product and version of Acronis True Image Home are you using?

    Second, there is no version build of 9.492.

    Post a PrtScrn Snapshot of the version being used.

    Since I had the exact problem you have, the problem was created by an incomplete Restore and the Boot.ini partition information that it points to got changed.

    I dual-boot my computer. I have Acronis installed in a second copy of XP on the same computer and always restore when needed from there.

    But to solve the problem, I reinstall Windows XP from the Upgrade CD and allowed it to fix Boot.ini.

    Then I rebooted the computer and went into my other copy of XP and restored from there. Rebooted and it worked.

    I had to delete the entry from Boot.ini that pointed to a bad installation, once in the operating system.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.